Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Digital VLSI verification engineer - required knowledge

Status
Not open for further replies.

NikosTS

Advanced Member level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello everyone,
I am a junior digital IC designer and i've being thinking of transitioning to the verification field.
What are the requirements for such a transition? Are there any common fields between digital verification and design ( common knowledge etc? )
And how close is verification to IC design? From my point of view, it seems closer to software engineer ( scripting etc ) than to hardware design?

Thank you in advance,
Nikos

Last edited:

Hello,

This is a very general answer to your specific question from a verification engineer.
If you want to find what kind of skill set is required for a job I'd suggest start by looking at the openings in various job portals. look for various job descriptions and understand the keywords mentioned repeatedly. Although what you said about verification being perceived as closer to software than hardware is somewhat true from my experience having hardware design background certainly helps.

Hope this helps.

BR, Kishor.

Thank you for your answer.
So learning a high-level programming language is a must? Is Systemverilog enough for verification? And how difficult is the transition from HDL language to a high-level one?

thank you!

What are the requirements for such a transition?
- You need to study logic function of basic standard cell : It is for gate level simulation
- You need to study Simulation EDA tool, how it works, how to make a verification environment.