Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How to build a thermo-conductive resistor? Or whatever this thing is called....

Status
Not open for further replies.

ExTemp

Newbie level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Basically what I'm looking to do is make a 2"x4"x1" metal brick that gets hot up to about 300-400 degrees Fahrenheit, and plug it into an American wall outlet. It would be nice if I could control the heat with more than an on/off switch or by pulling the plug. As you can probably tell I'm a complete novice in this and I barely know what to call this sort of device. The closest thing I've found in my google searches is a metal 'hot cutting knife' for bee keepers to cut wax off in slabs.

I would like to be able to mount this device to a table, woodworking wise I am more than knowledgeable and that wouldn't be an issue. Its the Watts, volts, amperes and ohms I'm uncertain about. I apologize if this is in the wrong thread and take no offence if a moderator deletes this or moves it elsewhere.

Much appreciated, ExTemp.

An easy method is to use a thermostat from a portable space heater. You might need to position it a certain distance from your heated brick, so it responds at its temperature range.

Or install a relay, controlled by an old-fashioned room thermostat. Position the thermostat a foot or two above your heated brick. Assuming the air is calm, air rising from the brick can assume a normal temperature range for the thermostat to turn on and off.

If you search you might find another temperature sensor, such as automotive types, radiator temperature, etc.

Reactions: ExTemp

ExTemp