+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 12,725, Level: 27
    Achievements:
    7 years registered

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    2,562
    Helped
    299 / 299
    Points
    12,725
    Level
    27

    setting attributes to VHDL entity ports

    Hello,

    In VHDL, Is it possible to set attributes to VHDL ports?
    I know the syntax for setting an attribute to a signal - but what about a port?

    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  2. #2
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 36,694, Level: 46
    Achievements:
    7 years registered

    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    6,700
    Helped
    1954 / 1954
    Points
    36,694
    Level
    46

    Re: setting attributes to VHDL entity ports

    yes. In the same way you assign attribute to signal:

    attribute keep of some_port : signal is "true";


    1 members found this post helpful.

    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  3. #3
    Advanced Member level 3
    Points: 5,550, Level: 17

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    920
    Helped
    263 / 263
    Points
    5,550
    Level
    17

    Re: setting attributes to VHDL entity ports

    I've also seen suggestions to use:

    attribute keep of some_port : port is "true";

    Not sure if the tools accept both.



    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  4. #4
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 12,725, Level: 27
    Achievements:
    7 years registered

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    2,562
    Helped
    299 / 299
    Points
    12,725
    Level
    27

    Re: setting attributes to VHDL entity ports

    attribute keep of some_port : port is "true";
    This is exactly what I tried before posting - and it didn't work with Vivado...



--[[ ]]--