+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Junior Member level 2
    Points: 1,158, Level: 7

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    20
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    1,158
    Level
    7

    Adding Shift Register in scan chain without converting to scan cell

    Hi all,

    Is it good to convert shift register as scan cell in netlist or not ? But how to add shiftt register in scan chain without converting it to scan cell/flops.
    I have 4 bit shift reg in my design and i want to add this reg in scan chain without converting it to scan cell, but i am not able to do this.

    •   Alt18th January 2018, 06:13

      advertising

        
       

  2. #2
    Full Member level 5
    Points: 4,065, Level: 15
    Achievements:
    7 years registered

    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    279
    Helped
    151 / 151
    Points
    4,065
    Level
    15

    Re: Adding Shift Register in scan chain without converting to scan cell

    The simplest way for doing that in DesignCompiler is using variable compile_seqmap_identify_shift_registers. DC will automatically identify existing shift registers and convert only first reg into scan equivalent.


    1 members found this post helpful.

    •   Alt18th January 2018, 08:05

      advertising

        
       

  3. #3
    Junior Member level 2
    Points: 1,158, Level: 7

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    20
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    1,158
    Level
    7

    Re: Adding Shift Register in scan chain without converting to scan cell

    I am doing scan insertition on DFTAdvisor tool. So in this tool how it is possible.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by oratie View Post
    The simplest way for doing that in DesignCompiler is using variable compile_seqmap_identify_shift_registers. DC will automatically identify existing shift registers and convert only first reg into scan equivalent.
    Hi oratie,
    As you said, DC will automatically identify existing shift registers and convert only first reg into scan equivalent. So other flops that are in shift register are also part of scan chain or not ?
    In my case , design has 8 bit shift register and only first flop convert as scan cell and other 7 flops are nonscanable, but the problem is how to add them in scan chain, because this 7 flops are not part of scan chain.



    •   Alt18th January 2018, 09:22

      advertising

        
       

  4. #4
    Full Member level 5
    Points: 4,065, Level: 15
    Achievements:
    7 years registered

    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    279
    Helped
    151 / 151
    Points
    4,065
    Level
    15

    Re: Adding Shift Register in scan chain without converting to scan cell

    DC automatically identify shift regs and add them into scan chain (also automatically). So, you do not need to use any special commands except setting compile_seqmap_identify_shift_registers variable. See man page for it. In your case, all 8 regs will be part of the whole scan chain and only first of them will be converted to scan flop.


    1 members found this post helpful.

  5. #5
    Junior Member level 2
    Points: 1,158, Level: 7

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    20
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    1,158
    Level
    7

    Re: Adding Shift Register in scan chain without converting to scan cell

    Is that any particular command in DFTAdvisor tool for doing the same as DC.



--[[ ]]--