Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Amp ADC interfacing using VHDL for Spartan-3A

Status
Not open for further replies.

NJ176

Newbie level 5
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello!

I am relatively new to VHDL. I have tried some smaller tasks and have been successful. I have been working interfacing amp and ADC of a Spartan-3A starter kit for my project. I have been working on it for months and haven't been able to make any progress. I got a reference code from https://www.edaboard.com/threads/213091/

But I am not able to understand some things:
Why are we checking bit 12? --- if(amplitude1_buffer(12) = '1') then

What does this command mean? -- SPI_MOSI <= gain2(3 - cnt);

Why does mclk do? And what is the trigger used for?

Also, if anyone has a UCF file and if you've written a code for this, can you please please please send it to me?
I really need a reference.

I am really looking forward to your help.

Thanks and regards,
NJ176

Hi
I don't want to read the whole foreign thread...
I assume bit 12 is the MSN and therefore the sign bit..
According trigger and MCLK: it is urgent for you to read the ADC datasheet.

Klaus

What does this command mean? -- SPI_MOSI <= gain2(3 - cnt);
Because the code writer is clueless about how to write a proper shift register.

As cnt increments 0, 1, 2, 3 you select gain2(x) where x is 3, 2, 1, 0. Later it uses gain2(7-cnt) for 7, 6, 5, 4.

Shows the coder doesn't know what a shift register is.

Looks like the ADC must have a SPI interface. I'd go find a better SPI implementation than this code.

Reactions: NJ176

NJ176

Helpful Answer Positive Rating