Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Image processing using microcontroller(PIC)

Status
Not open for further replies.

ComputerAngel

Junior Member level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello pals, I am new to PIC and I want to use it for my project. Based on its features, it is not suitable for that purpose but however since it is a prototype project I want to use it. My questions are:
1) Can I run openCV on the microcontroller(PIC) or I have to write codes for process the image myself?
2) How can I interface a camera with the microcontroller (PIC)?
Am working on iris identification system. Thank you.

As far as I know, none of the PIC familly has enough RAM memory to store neither a frame buffer, as well the temporary data for their math operations. Moreover, an 8 bit processor ( without ALU multiplier ) would require much more time to do the same job that a 32 bit core would do.

So are probably not able to do this using openCV on a PIC. It looks like openCV is more meant for userspace applications on Windows, Linux, etc. Extensive porting may be required and is probably not what you are looking for to start with a PIC. Also it would matter if it was a PIC10, 12, 16, 18, 24, 32. The word size varies between them: 8, 16, 32 bits. The PIC32 is actually MIPS versus Microchips hardvard PIC architecture. The cores also vary in terms of implementation for example hardware multiply. This would all come into play in determining performance and what would be required to port it. Also the program memory alone would probably be a deal breaker here.