Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Piplelining for critical path delay

Status
Not open for further replies.

dzafar

Member level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello there,

I am studying pipelining and came across the following example. In the image below the top circuit shows that the critical path is 5ns (assuming 1ns gate delay). The bottom circuit shows that they "pipelined" the circuit.

Untitled.png

I have a lot of questions!
1. Why divide it into 2ns and 3ns? Why not 1 and 4?
2. Why put 3 flip flops? Why not just 1 in the actual critical path?
3. How do we know if we are supposed to use pipelining?

Also,

Untitled.png

What does point 2 of above image mean ... "We can sometimes have multiple data items “in flight” at once"?

Also, in the image below, don't we also get an overhead of T_hold?

Untitled.png

Thanks in advance :)

Last edited:

1. Why divide it into 2ns and 3ns? Why not 1 and 4?