Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[SOLVED] Transformer design for SMPS

Status
Not open for further replies.

ashugtiwari

Full Member level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello,

This is my first time making SMPS for my application, so parden my silly mistakes and questions if any.

I stay in India where 230V ac rms @ 50Hz is available. I took 210V as min and 250V as max input. I need to get 5V@2A as output and using TNY266 as offline switcher for SMPS regulation. I referred following 2 links for making my first design:
https://www.mouser.com/pdfdocs/2-8.pdf

https://www.fairchildsemi.com/application-notes/AN/AN-4137.pdf

I calculated all the values which I attached in excel sheet.
https://1drv.ms/x/s!AhoWru2BCG9EgoRuFUzRit8UTTyGbg

It seems I need to wind transformer myself. So, I calculated primary and secondary turns used the table given in below link:
https://www.powerstream.com/Wire_Size.htm

So, primary is 144 turns of AWG 27 wire based on switching frequency and current and secondary is 4 turns of AWG 15 based on current but the switching frequency of that AWG is very low compared to the switching frequency of TNY266 i.e. 132 kHz. Did I select the correct AWG of wire for primary and secondary? And as per Infineon-Mouser design guide, I have decided to use EE16/8/5 core, is this the correct selection?

Am I doing correct calculations? If not, what are the corrections? Any recommended readings on subject to help design power supply and transformer design?

Thanks

Ashutosh

Did you try and use their PI Expert software?....it does the transformer design for you.