+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 21
  1. #1
    Advanced Member level 3
    Points: 5,376, Level: 17
    Achievements:
    Created Blog entry 7 years registered
    Mithun_K_Das's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Dhaka, Bangladesh, Bangladesh
    Posts
    828
    Helped
    22 / 22
    Points
    5,376
    Level
    17
    Blog Entries
    3

    100A AC current measurement

    100A AC current measurement. Yes its a easy job to do with CT and Shunt resistor.

    But if I use ACS sensor (hall effect current sensor) instead of Shunt resistor will it be a wise decision?

    Will it be precious enough to measure up to 100A AC current?

    I'm using 100A:5A CT and shunt resistor to ADC of microcontroller.
    I love my profession, I love my M's Lab. __MKDas

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Points: 77,827, Level: 68
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    Awards:
    Most Frequent Poster 3rd Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    15,771
    Helped
    3590 / 3590
    Points
    77,827
    Level
    68

    Re: 100A AC current measurement

    Hi,

    Will it be precious enough to measure up to 100A AC current?
    Read the datasheet. There should be the information about precision.

    We don't know your application data nor the used sensor, therefore we can't answer your question.

    Klaus



  3. #3
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 13,005, Level: 27

    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    2,213
    Helped
    754 / 754
    Points
    13,005
    Level
    27

    Re: 100A AC current measurement

    One advantage of a CT is that you can put a bridge rectifier before the burden resistor and then your adc only has to measure unipolar (all +ve ) half cycles with respect to ground.

    A Hall sensor will need positive and negative power supplies and produce an ac output which can be inconvenient for an adc, unless it too can handle both -ve and +ve input.

    Probably not too much difference in accuracy or linearity, but I suppose it depends on which has the most useful type of output.
    Cheers, Tony.



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  4. #4
    Advanced Member level 3
    Points: 5,376, Level: 17
    Achievements:
    Created Blog entry 7 years registered
    Mithun_K_Das's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Dhaka, Bangladesh, Bangladesh
    Posts
    828
    Helped
    22 / 22
    Points
    5,376
    Level
    17
    Blog Entries
    3

    Re: 100A AC current measurement

    Here is the circuit diagram:

    I love my profession, I love my M's Lab. __MKDas



  5. #5
    Full Member level 6
    Points: 3,609, Level: 14

    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    395
    Helped
    162 / 162
    Points
    3,609
    Level
    14

    Re: 100A AC current measurement

    Hall effect current sensor for 100A is available


    http://www.allegromicro.com/en/Produ...Cs/ACS756.aspx

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	CT-2.png 
Views:	5 
Size:	106.3 KB 
ID:	131723



  6. #6
    Advanced Member level 3
    Points: 5,376, Level: 17
    Achievements:
    Created Blog entry 7 years registered
    Mithun_K_Das's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Dhaka, Bangladesh, Bangladesh
    Posts
    828
    Helped
    22 / 22
    Points
    5,376
    Level
    17
    Blog Entries
    3

    Re: 100A AC current measurement

    The output of the hall sensor ASC712-5A can be processed to measure the signal. But will it be wise to use instead using a burden resistor with CT secondary?
    I love my profession, I love my M's Lab. __MKDas



  7. #7
    Full Member level 6
    Points: 3,609, Level: 14

    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    395
    Helped
    162 / 162
    Points
    3,609
    Level
    14

    Re: 100A AC current measurement

    Hall sensor output will be in DC voltage but CT with burden resistor output will be AC
    Ans also voltage level may be vary



  8. #8
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 13,005, Level: 27

    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    2,213
    Helped
    754 / 754
    Points
    13,005
    Level
    27

    Re: 100A AC current measurement

    I have never used one of those, so I cannot offer an opinion.
    Cheers, Tony.



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  9. #9
    Super Moderator
    Points: 260,240, Level: 100
    Awards:
    1st Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Bochum, Germany
    Posts
    45,443
    Helped
    13827 / 13827
    Points
    260,240
    Level
    100

    Re: 100A AC current measurement

    I don't see an advantage in using a hall current sensor at the CT secondary. It adds noise, gain drift, a DC offset (to be compensated in software) and magnetic crosstalk to the measurement.



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  10. #10
    Advanced Member level 3
    Points: 5,376, Level: 17
    Achievements:
    Created Blog entry 7 years registered
    Mithun_K_Das's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Dhaka, Bangladesh, Bangladesh
    Posts
    828
    Helped
    22 / 22
    Points
    5,376
    Level
    17
    Blog Entries
    3

    Re: 100A AC current measurement

    Actually ACS712 can measure both AC and DC current. Output is ac or dc as input. So no problem should be here with AC.

    Actually I want to measure up to 1000A using different rated CTs. Such as 800A:5A, or 600A:5A etc.

    So if I replace the burden resistor in the secondary of CT then it will be easy to measure the current. Also required space will be less than with resistor.

    Here I attached an image of ASC712 datasheet.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture.JPG 
Views:	5 
Size:	194.3 KB 
ID:	131724

    But as I never used ACS712 with CT secondary before so I'm asking will it be wise to use hall sensor or I should use burden resistor of high watt?


    Note: using a burden resistor will create power loss but hall sensor will not loss that much.
    I love my profession, I love my M's Lab. __MKDas



  11. #11
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 34,834, Level: 45
    Achievements:
    7 years registered Created Blog entry Created Album pictures
    SunnySkyguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Richmond Hill, ON, Canada
    Posts
    6,729
    Helped
    1679 / 1679
    Points
    34,834
    Level
    45
    Blog Entries
    7

    Re: 100A AC current measurement

    Normally your define what error you can allow then choose the best method.

    Hall sensors are convenient and can be low cost but high cost for self-calibrated liner type

    I prefer a 50~100mV shunt and have used this method up to 10kA
    A best design is easily achieved with good test specs™
    A better question deserves a better answer. ™
    ... so include all your acceptance criteria ( values, % tolerance) and assumptions in your question or any design.

    ... Tony Stewart EE since 1975
    - slightly north of Toronto



  12. #12
    Super Moderator
    Points: 77,827, Level: 68
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    Awards:
    Most Frequent Poster 3rd Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    15,771
    Helped
    3590 / 3590
    Points
    77,827
    Level
    68

    Re: 100A AC current measurement

    Hi,

    before it was 100A , now it is 1000A.
    You ask if it is precise enough, but you don´t say what precision you need.

    If you use a low ohmic burden, then the dissipated power is also low.

    Your posts lack a lot of informations and specifications. So it´s impossible to give good answers.

    Klaus



  13. #13
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 34,834, Level: 45
    Achievements:
    7 years registered Created Blog entry Created Album pictures
    SunnySkyguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Richmond Hill, ON, Canada
    Posts
    6,729
    Helped
    1679 / 1679
    Points
    34,834
    Level
    45
    Blog Entries
    7

    Re: 100A AC current measurement

    What voltage isolation , peak current and accuracy is required.?

    Core saturation and Remanence may occur if over driven.

    A good design question lists your overall requirements™ These are "SPECS"
    A best design is easily achieved with good test specs™
    A better question deserves a better answer. ™
    ... so include all your acceptance criteria ( values, % tolerance) and assumptions in your question or any design.

    ... Tony Stewart EE since 1975
    - slightly north of Toronto



  14. #14
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 14,971, Level: 29
    schmitt trigger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    2,488
    Helped
    805 / 805
    Points
    14,971
    Level
    29

    Re: 100A AC current measurement

    Quote Originally Posted by Warpspeed View Post
    One advantage of a CT is that you can put a bridge rectifier before the burden resistor and then your adc only has to measure unipolar (all +ve ) half cycles with respect to ground.
    .
    You beat me to it, Tony. You have +16 hr timezone advantage...

    And with the properly sized burden resistor, they are indestructible.
    I like to use current transformers for those reasons, when the measurement involves AC only. Of course, if there is a DC component, a hall cell must be used instead.
    My batteries are recharged by "Helpful Post" ratings.
    If you feel that I've helped you, please indicate it as a Helpful Post


    1 members found this post helpful.

  15. #15
    Advanced Member level 3
    Points: 5,376, Level: 17
    Achievements:
    Created Blog entry 7 years registered
    Mithun_K_Das's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Dhaka, Bangladesh, Bangladesh
    Posts
    828
    Helped
    22 / 22
    Points
    5,376
    Level
    17
    Blog Entries
    3

    Re: 100A AC current measurement

    Quote Originally Posted by KlausST View Post
    Hi,

    before it was 100A , now it is 1000A.
    You ask if it is precise enough, but you don´t say what precision you need.

    If you use a low ohmic burden, then the dissipated power is also low.

    Your posts lack a lot of informations and specifications. So it´s impossible to give good answers.

    Klaus
    Yes it was 100A before. Whatever, if I can measure 100A then I can measure 1000A too. All the CT s are rated x:5A where x = 100 to 1000A. So CT secondary is always 5A max.

    I've designed one controller with keeping 3 resistors in parallel rated 5Ohm/50Watt each. So total resistance = 5/3 Ohms. I'm testing it today. Hope I post the result soon.
    I love my profession, I love my M's Lab. __MKDas



  16. #16
    Super Moderator
    Points: 77,827, Level: 68
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    Awards:
    Most Frequent Poster 3rd Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    15,771
    Helped
    3590 / 3590
    Points
    77,827
    Level
    68

    Re: 100A AC current measurement

    Hi,

    A 100A:5A CT (or an 1000A:5A) is rated for RMS usually. So the output current is +/- 5A x sqrt(2) = +/-7.1A .. a total range of 14.2A.

    If you have a 5/3 Ohms shunt then the output voltage is +/-11.8V a total of 23.6V but you talk about an ADC.
    With 5A RMS this gives a power of 41.7W. Huge!

    I assume your ADC has 0..5V input range: Then:
    Why don´t you use an appropriate shunt to give +/-2.5V? = 0.35 Ohms (use 0.33 Ohms) then the dissipated power is only 8.25W and you don´t need extra circuitry to adjust to ADC input range?

    You additionally could use a lower ADC_VRef. Maybe one to get 0...2.50V ADC_input_range.
    Then a 0.15 Ohms resistor produces max. 3.75W of heat (use a 5W rated).

    I see no benefit in using 3 pieces of 5 ohms...

    Klaus


    1 members found this post helpful.

  17. #17
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 13,005, Level: 27

    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    2,213
    Helped
    754 / 754
    Points
    13,005
    Level
    27

    Re: 100A AC current measurement

    If all the "big fella" current transformers normally have a ratio to provide a standard 5 amps in the secondary, it should be possible to feed that five amps through a second much smaller current transformer mounted on the circuit board, to generate 5mA or 50 mA.

    The power loss would then be negligible, and the small CT could be mounted up close to your ADC for minimal noise pickup. Its a win/win situation.
    Cheers, Tony.


    1 members found this post helpful.

  18. #18
    Advanced Member level 3
    Points: 5,376, Level: 17
    Achievements:
    Created Blog entry 7 years registered
    Mithun_K_Das's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Dhaka, Bangladesh, Bangladesh
    Posts
    828
    Helped
    22 / 22
    Points
    5,376
    Level
    17
    Blog Entries
    3

    Re: 100A AC current measurement

    Quote Originally Posted by Warpspeed View Post
    If all the "big fella" current transformers normally have a ratio to provide a standard 5 amps in the secondary, it should be possible to feed that five amps through a second much smaller current transformer mounted on the circuit board, to generate 5mA or 50 mA.

    The power loss would then be negligible, and the small CT could be mounted up close to your ADC for minimal noise pickup. Its a win/win situation.
    That is very good idea. Thanks.

    I tested the circuit today. And lots of heat is generated. I think I should use another small CT to calculate the big line current.
    I love my profession, I love my M's Lab. __MKDas



  19. #19
    Super Moderator
    Points: 77,827, Level: 68
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    Awards:
    Most Frequent Poster 3rd Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    15,771
    Helped
    3590 / 3590
    Points
    77,827
    Level
    68

    Re: 100A AC current measurement

    Hi,

    before you worried about precision... now you consider to use two CTs in series. This won´t improve precision...

    Klaus



  20. #20
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 34,834, Level: 45
    Achievements:
    7 years registered Created Blog entry Created Album pictures
    SunnySkyguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Richmond Hill, ON, Canada
    Posts
    6,729
    Helped
    1679 / 1679
    Points
    34,834
    Level
    45
    Blog Entries
    7

    Re: 100A AC current measurement

    A best design is easily achieved with good test specs™
    A better question deserves a better answer. ™
    ... so include all your acceptance criteria ( values, % tolerance) and assumptions in your question or any design.

    ... Tony Stewart EE since 1975
    - slightly north of Toronto



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

--[[ ]]--