+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Full Member level 4
    Points: 2,557, Level: 11
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    sreepss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Cochin, Kerala, India
    Posts
    204
    Helped
    30 / 30
    Points
    2,557
    Level
    11

    Arduino mega +ssd1963 Problem

    Arduino mega +ssd1963 Problem
    Hi all.. I have designed a custom PCB with ATmega2560 for my project. Have a 4.3 inch tft on it
    With SSD1963 controller (16bit data bus). All the data and control lines are translated to 3.3 logic
    With 74ahc541 buffers. The connection from my PCB to display module is via a 40pin flat ribbon
    Cable. Earlier I have tested the display using mega board and all the codes are working fine. But whenever I have assembled on this board, the tft gives only white screen. I have a pullup in the reset line. Really fed up with this issue.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	srf_t1ft.JPG 
Views:	12 
Size:	69.5 KB 
ID:	131376heres my schematic
    Best Regards,
    Sreejith

    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  2. #2
    Advanced Member level 3
    Points: 5,481, Level: 17

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    926
    Helped
    183 / 183
    Points
    5,481
    Level
    17

    Re: Arduino mega +ssd1963 Problem

    double check the your data and address line connection same as per your code which was working.and check the tft lcd supply capacitor with specified in its datasheet.

    Mostly miss match gpio in hardware and your c code.
    Please marked the thread solved if your problem is answered it will take few seconds of you but saves lot of time for others to get answers for same problems..


    1 members found this post helpful.

  3. #3
    Full Member level 4
    Points: 2,557, Level: 11
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    sreepss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Cochin, Kerala, India
    Posts
    204
    Helped
    30 / 30
    Points
    2,557
    Level
    11

    Re: Arduino mega +ssd1963 Problem

    Quote Originally Posted by ud23 View Post
    double check the your data and address line connection same as per your code which was working.and check the tft lcd supply capacitor with specified in its datasheet.

    Mostly miss match gpio in hardware and your c code.
    Yeah was exactly the same problem that you had mentioned, but I have resolved it earlier. Sorry to mark this thread as solved. And I have one more doubt, is it really required to give pullupa on my 74AHC541 output?
    Best Regards,
    Sreejith



  4. #4
    Advanced Member level 3
    Points: 5,481, Level: 17

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    926
    Helped
    183 / 183
    Points
    5,481
    Level
    17

    Re: Arduino mega +ssd1963 Problem

    not necessary that pull up at output of 74hc541. your problem solved or still having problem with display.
    Please marked the thread solved if your problem is answered it will take few seconds of you but saves lot of time for others to get answers for same problems..



    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  5. #5
    Full Member level 4
    Points: 2,557, Level: 11
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    sreepss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Cochin, Kerala, India
    Posts
    204
    Helped
    30 / 30
    Points
    2,557
    Level
    11

    Re: Arduino mega +ssd1963 Problem

    Its solved
    Best Regards,
    Sreejith



  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Points: 63,277, Level: 61
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    Awards:
    Most Frequent Poster 3rd Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    12,934
    Helped
    2986 / 2986
    Points
    63,277
    Level
    61

    Re: Arduino mega +ssd1963 Problem

    Hi,

    Don't let inputs floating: D7 of U28. --> connect it to GND.

    Is T_CS input or output?

    ***
    Why the LED_A connection.

    *****

    I don't like the GND switching.
    * The input signal are referenced to GND...
    * additionally there may be input protection against GND..so you loose the protection feature

    In case you still use to switch OFF the GND line
    * you need to be sure that there is no LOW at the signal lines during OFF (it may kill the device). Use the OE feature of the AHC541

    Klaus



  7. #7
    Full Member level 4
    Points: 2,557, Level: 11
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    sreepss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Cochin, Kerala, India
    Posts
    204
    Helped
    30 / 30
    Points
    2,557
    Level
    11

    Re: Arduino mega +ssd1963 Problem

    Hi,

    Quote Originally Posted by KlausST View Post
    Hi,

    Don't let inputs floating: D7 of U28. --> connect it to GND.

    Is T_CS input or output?

    ***
    Why the LED_A connection.

    *****

    I don't like the GND switching.
    * The input signal are referenced to GND...
    * additionally there may be input protection against GND..so you loose the protection feature

    In case you still use to switch OFF the GND line
    * you need to be sure that there is no LOW at the signal lines during OFF (it may kill the device). Use the OE feature of the AHC541

    Klaus

    > All the inputs of U28, are internally pulled up inside micro controller
    > T_CS is the touch controllers chip select input (3.3V Level) so i have connected it through 74AHC
    > LCD back light was always ON in that design, But i have modified it to controlled by MC
    > I have already changed my ground switching section of LCD, and now its positive side switching with MMBT2222

    THANKS FOR THE REPLAY SIR
    Best Regards,
    Sreejith



  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    Points: 63,277, Level: 61
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    Awards:
    Most Frequent Poster 3rd Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    12,934
    Helped
    2986 / 2986
    Points
    63,277
    Level
    61

    Re: Arduino mega +ssd1963 Problem

    Hi,

    either you didnīt read my post carefully, or your schematic is wrong.

    U28, D7 is definitely unconnected at your schematic, so how can it be "pulled_up" by the microcontroller?

    ***
    T_CS is not connected.

    ***
    High side power switching. Is Better.
    But now the datalines should never be HIGH during power LCD_OFF. Else it might hurt your display. --> Use OE function of AHC541.
    I recommend to use a zener to prevent LCD_VCC from overvoltage when switched OFF, to maintain overvoltage protection of datalines.
    (Not necessary if otherwise overvoltage is prevented)

    ****

    If you have modified your schematic, so please post the updated one. Else we risk confusion, because we speak about different situations.

    Klaus



    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  9. #9
    Full Member level 4
    Points: 2,557, Level: 11
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    sreepss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Cochin, Kerala, India
    Posts
    204
    Helped
    30 / 30
    Points
    2,557
    Level
    11

    Re: Arduino mega +ssd1963 Problem

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	modified.jpg 
Views:	8 
Size:	266.1 KB 
ID:	131755
    Quote Originally Posted by KlausST View Post
    Hi,

    either you didnīt read my post carefully, or your schematic is wrong.

    U28, D7 is definitely unconnected at your schematic, so how can it be "pulled_up" by the microcontroller?

    ***
    T_CS is not connected.

    ***
    High side power switching. Is Better.
    But now the datalines should never be HIGH during power LCD_OFF. Else it might hurt your display. --> Use OE function of AHC541.
    I recommend to use a zener to prevent LCD_VCC from overvoltage when switched OFF, to maintain overvoltage protection of datalines.
    (Not necessary if otherwise overvoltage is prevented)

    ****

    If you have modified your schematic, so please post the updated one. Else we risk confusion, because we speak about different situations.

    Klaus
    hello sir

    Thanks for your valuable suggestions. I have modified the schematics like this

    > I am not using the touch functions so i have not touched the Touch controller section.
    > 3.3 V rail is protected with Zener diode
    Best Regards,
    Sreejith



--[[ ]]--