+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Member level 2
    Points: 1,688, Level: 9
    Achievements:
    7 years registered

    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    germany
    Posts
    47
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    1,688
    Level
    9

    15V to 5V voltage regulation (without switching voltage supply)

    Hi,

    i have 15V and i would to have 5V, i dont want to do it with switching power supply because of its noises.
    if i do it with voltage regulator; Power Loss = (15V-5V).1A = 10W. Power lost is so much.
    Any ideas how can i do it?
    thank you

    best regards

    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Points: 70,762, Level: 64
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    Awards:
    Most Frequent Poster 3rd Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    14,474
    Helped
    3293 / 3293
    Points
    70,762
    Level
    64

    Re: 15V to 5V voltage regulation (without switching voltage supply)

    Hi,

    Without switching regulator:
    * reduce input voltage
    * reduce current consumption
    I see no other way.

    *****
    Noise of switchin regulators:
    In a handheld measurement device I have a step down switcher...
    50mm away on the same PCB I have a 16 bit ADC running with 10kSamples/s and an anlog bandwidth of about 3kHz.
    The input signals is amplified, so that one LSB results in about 2uV.

    The noise (in the digital signals) is less than 2uV RMS.

    --> Careful design, good layout, adjusted filters ensure this performance.

    --> I´d use a switching regulator.
    *****

    Klaus



    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  3. #3
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 9,137, Level: 22
    d123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    1,615
    Helped
    378 / 378
    Points
    9,137
    Level
    22

    Re: 15V to 5V voltage regulation (without switching voltage supply)

    Hi. "Power Loss = (15V-5V).1A = 10W" Is that a decimal point or a multiplication sign, please? Does your ADC circuit really need 1 amp, or does it need 100 milliamps? The 7805 type are fine at 1W.

    You could use several linear regulators, but I think that is wasteful: 15V supply into a 12V regulator into a 9V regulator into the 5V regulator.

    I seem to remember that in another post on this subject Klaus suggested to the person who was making a very similar circuit to yours that the switcher frequency can be matched to the ADC frequency, if I'm not mistaken.

    I still think an LDO after the switcher isn't such a bad solution, it seems to be a standard practice. Look for subjects like: "post smps regulation", or "post converter regulation techniques", etc., there should be plenty of information, including application notes.



    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  4. #4
    Member level 2
    Points: 1,688, Level: 9
    Achievements:
    7 years registered

    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    germany
    Posts
    47
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    1,688
    Level
    9

    Re: 15V to 5V voltage regulation (without switching voltage supply)

    Hi Klaus,

    thank you.
    as reducing the input voltage:
    - voltage divider with resistor?
    - should i use many diodes serie 10x0,7V = 7V voltage reducing.
    ir there any other methods?

    this 5V will go to ADCs and voltage regulator of FPGA. It will be pcb for IGBT driver.
    switching regulator could be fine still?
    thank you.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Hi,
    no i guess ADCS(6 ADCs) would need around 100mA maybe less.
    it will also go to FPGA(spartan 6). as i remember every bank can consume max 200mA. maybe i am wrong. thats why i thought 1A.



  5. #5
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 34,790, Level: 45
    Achievements:
    7 years registered Created Blog entry Created Album pictures
    SunnySkyguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Richmond Hill, ON, Canada
    Posts
    6,702
    Helped
    1672 / 1672
    Points
    34,790
    Level
    45
    Blog Entries
    7

    Re: 15V to 5V voltage regulation (without switching voltage supply)

    It is easy to reduce noise say on 50mV SMPS ripple using LC filter to desired level combined with PSRR on chip.

    CM and DM ferrite beads can also reduce ingress on high impedance inputs, if the layout causes crosstalk.

    I have used SMPS for video amplifiers and AMLCD bias without noise effects, but with care.

    In this case I stepped down 9V to 5V for Altera Logic and then cascaded a Boost to 12V for Analog low power and LCD bias. Then on 1st design verification, I heard white noise like running water from the PFM boost inductor. Turns out it was an unstable condition called "chaos" which I fixed easily with a low ESR storage cap on the input of the boost regulator.
    Last edited by SunnySkyguy; 26th July 2016 at 12:23.
    A good design question lists your overall requirements™ The best question deserves a better answer. ™
    ... Tony Stewart EE since 1975



  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Points: 70,762, Level: 64
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    Awards:
    Most Frequent Poster 3rd Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    14,474
    Helped
    3293 / 3293
    Points
    70,762
    Level
    64

    Re: 15V to 5V voltage regulation (without switching voltage supply)

    Hi,

    I seem to remember that in another post on this subject Klaus suggested to the person who was making a very similar circuit to yours that the switcher frequency can be matched to the ADC frequency, if I'm not mistaken.
    Yes. Some swtiching controller ICs are synchronizable.

    as reducing the input voltage:
    - voltage divider with resistor?
    - should i use many diodes serie 10x0,7V = 7V voltage reducing.
    No. Use a 9V supply instead of a 12V supply.

    this 5V will go to ADCs and voltage regulator of FPGA.
    Sure the Spartan 6 works with 5V?

    Klaus



    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  7. #7
    Member level 2
    Points: 1,688, Level: 9
    Achievements:
    7 years registered

    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    germany
    Posts
    47
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    1,688
    Level
    9

    Re: 15V to 5V voltage regulation (without switching voltage supply)

    Quote Originally Posted by KlausST View Post
    Hi,





    No. Use a 9V supply instead of a 12V supply.


    Sure the Spartan 6 works with 5V?

    Klaus
    i meant 5v will go to 3.3V voltage regulator.

    there is only 15V i can use. i cant change it.

    most switching supplys for 3.3V 1A are at least, 50khz, i dont have experience with these, i dont know how would it disturb the circuit.

    do you think is it good idea to use SMPS on igbt driver circuit?
    greetings



--[[ ]]--