Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Differential pair routing

Status
Not open for further replies.

chrischina

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I am a bit lost about how to establish the parameters to establish differential pair routing. I am currently trying to route several differential pair and I am a bit new to this. I have searched online some tutorial but I don't find any really explaining **easily and out of the theory** with sipmple succession of steps about how to do it

I have downloaded saturn pcb software to see if it can help but I don't understand well how the soft is working because what it ask me to input is typically what I am searching for (it looks it is reverted... !!!)

Assuming the differential pair I am routing is requiring 90 ohm (this is what the hardware guideline say "Route the USB differential pair on the top layer with a trace width and differential spacing tuned to the
PCB stack-up for 90Ω differential impedance ").

So in Saturn PCB I have indicated in target zdiff : 90
Conductor spacing: I don't know (Am I supposed to arbitrary settle this, then accomodate the other parameters ?)
Conductor width: same
Conductor height: this I suppose I need to check my layer stack up. In this case I suppose I have to decide the spacing between top track and ??? first prepreg or core ?

I would really appreciate if someone who have experience could explain their methodology via a "1./ 2./ 3./ 4./ points methodology" to be able to achieve any differential pair routing.

Thank you in advance for your help.