Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Could you recommend a SIMULATION-oriented book for VHDL?

Status
Not open for further replies.

ZX_Spectrum

Newbie level 5
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I am very new to VHDL and honestly my ride so far with VHDL has been so bumpy.
after trying multiple book I reached a conclusion that it is better for me now to start learning VHDL as a simulation language and put aside the Synthesis part, as Synthesis require a lot of Hardware skills that I am currently not very good at.
I came from software background and absolutely unfamiliar with RTL approach to digital design thus learning the simulation aspects of VHDL seems like the right thing for me at least until I build up the required hardware skills.

And here comes my problem; I have been looking for a good SIMULATION oriented introductory book on VHDL but so far without any success.
It seems like the only book that tackles VHDL from SIMULATION-only point of view is :
The Designer's Guide to VHDL, Third Edition (Systems on Silicon) by Peter J. Ashenden.

It is sure a great book but it just not working out well for me; it seems to me that trying to introduce someone to VHDL using this book is just like introducing someone to Hamburger for the first time by asking him to eat a kilogram of bread and then drinking a whole litter of ketchup and then eating a whole kilogram of minced beef and finally a whole cabbage head and after all of that expecting him to have a good grasp of what hamburger taste like.

sorry for the long explanation but I am just trying to convey the state of frustration I am at right now .