Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[SOLVED] how to write and read to RTC

Status
Not open for further replies.

akshaybhavsar

Full Member level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I am getting problem with RTC mcp79410.I am new with Rtc programming.
how to set time and date in RTC.whether it is to be written in eeprom or sram?.how to read date and time?:oops::thumbsdown:

Code:
unsigned char data[10];
    int datasize;
    int index=0;
    data[0]=0xDE;
    data[1]=0x00;
    data[2]=0x20;
    data[3]=0x21;
    data[4]=0x80;
//    data[5]=0x81;
//    data[6]=0x27;
//    data[7]=0x01;
//    data[8]=0x15;
   datasize=9;

StartI2C1();//Send the Start Bit
    IdleI2C1();//Wait to complete
    while(datasize)
    {
        k=MasterWriteI2C1(data[index]);
    datasize--;
    index++;

if( I2C1STATbits.ACKSTAT )
break;

}
  // k= MasterputsI2C1(data);

StopI2C1();//Send the Stop condition

StartI2C1();//Send the Start Bit

k=MasterWriteI2C1(0xDE);

k=MasterWriteI2C1(0x00);

RestartI2C1();//Send the Stop condition

k=MasterWriteI2C1(0xDF);

getvalue=MasterReadI2C1();

StopI2C1();//Send the Stop condition

Last edited by a moderator:

Hi,

what is AN1414?

What about doing a search by yourself?
--> Google: first hit!
--> microchip search: first hit!

Klaus

I havent got it for PIC 32mx...there is mo application note for RTC with pic32mx

If you are using an external RTC chip then the documentation for that chip will tell you how you need to communicate with it. All you need to know from the PIC32MX's point of view is how to send and receive via I2C and there are *many* examples for that.