+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Newbie level 6
    Points: 433, Level: 4

    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    12
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    433
    Level
    4

    transmission line model in HFSS

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	MT (3).jpg 
Views:	13 
Size:	3.15 MB 
ID:	128747
    I want to design a transmission line for my power amplifier match network.
    Firstly I draw a path in virtuoso ,then I export the GDS file to HFSS, but I need one end terminal of the MT line connected to GND . how can I do this in HFSS .PLZ tell me ,thanks a lot

    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  2. #2
    Advanced Member level 4
    Points: 6,591, Level: 19

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Edmonton, Canada
    Posts
    1,016
    Helped
    295 / 295
    Points
    6,591
    Level
    19

    Re: transmission line model in HFSS

    Quote Originally Posted by NaPeng View Post
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	MT (3).jpg 
Views:	13 
Size:	3.15 MB 
ID:	128747
    I want to design a transmission line for my power amplifier match network.
    Firstly I draw a path in virtuoso ,then I export the GDS file to HFSS, but I need one end terminal of the MT line connected to GND . how can I do this in HFSS .PLZ tell me ,thanks a lot
    Put a conductor between your two TL conductors?

    Please provide more details for a more specific answer -- the hand-drawn figure doesn't help.



    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  3. #3
    Newbie level 6
    Points: 433, Level: 4

    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    12
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    433
    Level
    4

    Re: transmission line model in HFSS

    Attachment 128772
    Hi PlanarMetamaterials
    this is the match network I want simulate in HFSS ,as you can see ,this match net work is consist of two Microstrip lines ,and the right one is one end connected GND , when I simulated the network on 3D HFSS simulator how can I do this correctly? I mean how can i add the gnd to the stub when I simulated in HFSS
    thanks I hope I expressed myself clearly



    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  4. #4
    Member level 1
    Points: 753, Level: 6

    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Edinburgh, Scotland
    Posts
    35
    Helped
    2 / 2
    Points
    753
    Level
    6

    Re: transmission line model in HFSS

    I think your circuit has a ground plane and you can add a via. So draw a thin cylinder with proper diameter between the stub and ground. Its ends should just touch the stub and ground plane. Put its material to PEC.



  5. #5
    Newbie level 6
    Points: 433, Level: 4

    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    12
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    433
    Level
    4

    Re: transmission line model in HFSS

    Hi rizoeda
    I have done as you said ,but there appears a warning that the gnd boundary and perfe1 boundary overlap ,can I ignore that warning?

    - - - Updated - - -

    and thank you very much for your reply



    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  6. #6
    Member level 1
    Points: 753, Level: 6

    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Edinburgh, Scotland
    Posts
    35
    Helped
    2 / 2
    Points
    753
    Level
    6

    Re: transmission line model in HFSS

    Hi NaPeng
    What are your mentioned "gnd boundary" and "perfe1 boundary"? These are your appellations, you can attach your hfss project file if you'd like. Generally speaking you can ignore warnings IF you are sure about all other details of your project (Excitation, Radiation Boundary, etc.)



--[[ ]]--