Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

strain gauge calibration

Status
Not open for further replies.

DNA2683

Advanced Member level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi All,

Im new in the strain gauge world.

Im looking for a low cost strain guage that can feel 1g to 1kg tension that preformed on a small aluminum plate.

I understand that there is a several methods to sense the change in the resistant of the strain guage. the most common is a Weston bridge.( if there is a better way ill be to get some information)

Can some one recommend me what is the best to use ( half bridge, full bridge ?) , and also how to calibrate the bridge? ( if there is a IC that do it it will be grate)

thanks

Hi. Try and understand your theoretical concept about weaston bridge circuitry. Note: there are reference point which can be used for calibration. It's an analogue circuit which it output can feed to an instrumentation amplifier or monitor with your multimeter. You can also go microcontroller to process the analogue sensor reading and display result on LCD or pc.

Hi,

If you need temperature stability, then a full bridge is best.
There are signal conditioning ICs especially made for strain gauge applications.

What do you want to calibrate? Gain, offset? In whag range?
What precision do yo want? ( Yes, I know you like to answer: The best one can achieve.. But with this answer nobody can calculate. We need values)

Klaus

Hi,

If you need temperature stability, then a full bridge is best.
There are signal conditioning ICs especially made for strain gauge applications.