+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Newbie level 4
    Points: 40, Level: 1

    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    6
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    40
    Level
    1

    How to know if there is noise affecting my signal

    Hi
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Picture1.jpg 
Views:	11 
Size:	144.1 KB 
ID:	126936
    I have a signal shown in the attached figure and the fft of that signal as well. In addition I have also attached the fft of the static noise signal. You can see that in the original signal there are harmonics present specially on the first half of the curve. I really dont expect them coz in my experimental setup i try to eliminate all secondary noise sources. I am wondering if these harmonics are coming from the static noise in the signal? I have also attached the fft of the noise signal as well. But i am really not sure if the noise will affect that much the original signal coz the magnitude of this noise is really small compared to the magnitude of the original signal. Please advice me what could be the cause of these harmonics?

    Thanks

    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Points: 69,659, Level: 64
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    Awards:
    Most Frequent Poster 3rd Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    14,229
    Helped
    3251 / 3251
    Points
    69,659
    Level
    64

    Re: How to know if there is noise affecting my signal

    Hi,

    I don't think that one of the FFT belong to the top diagram signal.

    I can neither see signal amplitudes, nor frequencies, nor overtones.

    Klaus



  3. #3
    Newbie level 4
    Points: 40, Level: 1

    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    6
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    40
    Level
    1

    Re: How to know if there is noise affecting my signal

    Sorry I didn't understand your reply. Could you please elaborate more?



    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Points: 69,659, Level: 64
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    Awards:
    Most Frequent Poster 3rd Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    14,229
    Helped
    3251 / 3251
    Points
    69,659
    Level
    64

    Re: How to know if there is noise affecting my signal

    Hi,

    How did you calculate both FFTs from the above diagram?

    Klaus



  5. #5
    Newbie level 4
    Points: 40, Level: 1

    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    6
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    40
    Level
    1

    Re: How to know if there is noise affecting my signal

    No only the first fft is calculated from the above diagram whereas the last fft signal is generated from the static noise in the sensor



  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Points: 69,659, Level: 64
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    Awards:
    Most Frequent Poster 3rd Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    14,229
    Helped
    3251 / 3251
    Points
    69,659
    Level
    64

    Re: How to know if there is noise affecting my signal

    Hi,

    The FFT of a signal of the first diagram needs at least two peaks on the left side.
    One at DC, then the next at about 200Hz, then I expect a lot of overtones...

    How many sample points in x axis of the first diagram do you have?

    Klaus



    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  7. #7
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 15,446, Level: 29

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    2,844
    Helped
    674 / 674
    Points
    15,446
    Level
    29

    Re: How to know if there is noise affecting my signal

    Why I do not see a peak around 200Hz?



  8. #8
    Newbie level 4
    Points: 40, Level: 1

    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    6
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    40
    Level
    1

    Re: How to know if there is noise affecting my signal

    why do i have a peak at 200 HZ? Please explain this?
    Just one correction in last fft figure that the frequency units are KHz and not Hz
    Total number of sample points are 500



--[[ ]]--