+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 14,971, Level: 29
    schmitt trigger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    2,488
    Helped
    805 / 805
    Points
    14,971
    Level
    29

    power switch on the volume control

    Check the note that I've outlined in yellow in the attached schematic.

    However, as a youngster, I remember that most, if not all the power switches were indeed integrated into the volume control.

    For you old timers: is that how you remember things too?

    Anyways, a little trivia; I built almost an identical circuit as shown. But I couldn't get a hold of 35C5 tubes, whereas the 50C5 were fairly common.
    Therefore i used the 50C5 and removed the 35W4 rectifier, and substituted it with a selenium rectifier.
    That way the total filament voltage matched the household voltage.
    My batteries are recharged by "Helpful Post" ratings.
    If you feel that I've helped you, please indicate it as a Helpful Post

    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Points: 52,941, Level: 56

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    12,948
    Helped
    2580 / 2580
    Points
    52,941
    Level
    56

    Re: power switch on the volume control

    I remember practically all volume knobs had the on-off switch. It was a contraption sitting inside the metal cover on the potentiometer.
    Transistor radios, desk radios, tv's, phonographs.



  3. #3
    Member level 4
    Points: 1,176, Level: 7

    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Minnesota USA
    Posts
    75
    Helped
    23 / 23
    Points
    1,176
    Level
    7

    Re: power switch on the volume control

    I serviced hundreds of the good old 5 tube AM radios. I can still remember the tubes: 50C5,35W4,12BA6,12BE6,12AV6.
    The power switch was always on the volume control. I remember buying controls as a kit that had the option to snap on a power switch on the back.
    Maybe the circuit design such as input impedance determines if it would be sensitive to hum ?

    Larry G



  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Points: 260,240, Level: 100
    Awards:
    1st Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Bochum, Germany
    Posts
    45,443
    Helped
    13827 / 13827
    Points
    260,240
    Level
    100

    Re: power switch on the volume control

    "SW should not be mounted on the back of R1" sounds kind of useless for an amplifier with direct mains supply and series connected heaters. With this antique power supply technique, we would also need a "safety" series capacitor in the audio input ground line which further increases hum.



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  5. #5
    Member level 4
    Points: 1,176, Level: 7

    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Minnesota USA
    Posts
    75
    Helped
    23 / 23
    Points
    1,176
    Level
    7

    Re: power switch on the volume control

    Yea with that circuit you'd have to watch the polarity of the AC in or it would have a "tingle" to it. Probably the best would be to have the signal in ground on the chassis and tied to the ground of a three prong AC plug for safety?



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  6. #6
    Advanced Member level 3
    Points: 6,508, Level: 19

    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    800
    Helped
    7 / 7
    Points
    6,508
    Level
    19

    Re: power switch on the volume control

    the AC switch on the back of the pot would not meet today's safety standards....!



  7. #7
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 14,971, Level: 29
    schmitt trigger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    2,488
    Helped
    805 / 805
    Points
    14,971
    Level
    29

    Re: power switch on the volume control

    Quote Originally Posted by retrogear View Post
    Yea with that circuit you'd have to watch the polarity of the AC in or it would have a "tingle" to it. Probably the best would be to have the signal in ground on the chassis and tied to the ground of a three prong AC plug for safety?
    I remember that my grandfather had one of those "table" radios, in a bakelite cabinet with (I guess) bakelite knobs.

    Bakelite would break easily, and the volume control had its shaft partially exposed.
    I distinctly remember, over 50 years ago, getting zapped by the thing. My grandfather just laughed and told me that I should reverse the plug.
    Those days were before polarized plugs.

    No consumer safety agencies back then.
    My batteries are recharged by "Helpful Post" ratings.
    If you feel that I've helped you, please indicate it as a Helpful Post



  8. #8
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 11,178, Level: 25

    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    1,814
    Helped
    673 / 673
    Points
    11,178
    Level
    25

    Re: power switch on the volume control

    it's the metal shaft and can of the pot that make it not met standards these days, you're lucky to have only 115Vac or so, 230-240Vac here...



  9. #9
    Member level 4
    Points: 1,176, Level: 7

    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Minnesota USA
    Posts
    75
    Helped
    23 / 23
    Points
    1,176
    Level
    7

    Re: power switch on the volume control

    I learned respect when as a young kid I added an external antenna to the clip provided on the back of the radio then tried to adjust it for the best reception while barefoot on a damp basement floor. It knocked me to the ground. Good thing I had a young heart.



  10. #10
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 14,971, Level: 29
    schmitt trigger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    2,488
    Helped
    805 / 805
    Points
    14,971
    Level
    29

    Re: power switch on the volume control

    Quote Originally Posted by Easy peasy View Post
    it's the metal shaft and can of the pot that make it not met standards these days, you're lucky to have only 115Vac or so, 230-240Vac here...
    That would be my next question:
    I know that transformerless, hot-chassis radios were common in North America.

    But what about other parts of the world?
    My batteries are recharged by "Helpful Post" ratings.
    If you feel that I've helped you, please indicate it as a Helpful Post



  11. #11
    Full Member level 5
    Points: 2,736, Level: 12
    Achievements:
    7 years registered

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    257
    Helped
    67 / 67
    Points
    2,736
    Level
    12

    Re: power switch on the volume control

    The power switch on the volume pot was almost a necessity as it would force the volume down to 0 before removing power. Certain amplifier configurations, back in the day, would produce a loud thump upon removing power. This "hid" the thump from the user.



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  12. #12
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 25,337, Level: 38

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Southampton and holiday cottage in Wensleydale (UK)
    Posts
    4,863
    Helped
    1315 / 1315
    Points
    25,337
    Level
    38

    Re: power switch on the volume control

    The "hot chassis" was very common in the UK, pre transistors. WE called it an AC/DC set. DC mains disappeared before WW2!
    Frank



  13. #13
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 14,971, Level: 29
    schmitt trigger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    2,488
    Helped
    805 / 805
    Points
    14,971
    Level
    29

    Re: power switch on the volume control

    Quote Originally Posted by chuckey View Post
    The "hot chassis" was very common in the UK, pre transistors. WE called it an AC/DC set. DC mains disappeared before WW2!
    Frank
    And the DC mains was 220 volts?
    My batteries are recharged by "Helpful Post" ratings.
    If you feel that I've helped you, please indicate it as a Helpful Post



  14. #14
    Member level 4
    Points: 1,176, Level: 7

    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Minnesota USA
    Posts
    75
    Helped
    23 / 23
    Points
    1,176
    Level
    7

    Re: power switch on the volume control

    I thought AC/DC sets would run DC with two 45V batteries giving 90V for plate voltage.
    Larry G



--[[ ]]--