+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Newbie level 3
    Points: 1,060, Level: 7

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    3
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    1,060
    Level
    7

    [Moved]: Need to add signals, with different frequencies

    Hi,

    I want to add two signals which is similar to the waveform shown below.

    One is NRS signal operating at 330Kbps and for this i want to add a small square wave form which can operates at 1.6MHz and 30mv p/p.

    Any input on how this can be achieved will be a great help.

    Regards,
    Kris

    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Points: 51,484, Level: 55
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    erikl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    8,064
    Helped
    2642 / 2642
    Points
    51,484
    Level
    55

    Re: [Moved]: Need to add signals, with different frequencies

    Which tool/simulator do you use?



    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  3. #3
    Newbie level 3
    Points: 1,060, Level: 7

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    3
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    1,060
    Level
    7

    Re: [Moved]: Need to add signals, with different frequencies

    Hi,

    I want to add an square wave on top of NRZ or BMC signal which is running at 1.6MHz frequency and 30mV p/p, as shown in the attached waveform.

    I want to realize this on a analog device, for input BMC signal i want to add 1.6MHz square wave.

    I am not using any tool/simulator, please let me know if any open source tool that can help me realizing this.

    Regards,
    Kris



    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  4. #4
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 34,760, Level: 45
    Achievements:
    7 years registered Created Blog entry Created Album pictures
    SunnySkyguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Richmond Hill, ON, Canada
    Posts
    6,699
    Helped
    1671 / 1671
    Points
    34,760
    Level
    45
    Blog Entries
    7

    Re: [Moved]: Need to add signals, with different frequencies

    With a 4:1 ratio on amplitude, your drawing is not to scale. (120:30 mVpp)

    With a /5 counter divider you can make the frequency ratio precise.

    With 5V logic CMOS, you can easily mix the amplitudes down to your desired level with AC coupling as shown (HPF response )

    Here is a quick simulation

    A good design question lists your overall requirements™ The best question deserves a better answer. ™
    ... Tony Stewart EE since 1975



  5. #5
    Newbie level 3
    Points: 1,060, Level: 7

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    3
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    1,060
    Level
    7

    Re: [Moved]: Need to add signals, with different frequencies

    Hi Sunny,

    Thanks for your response.

    How the amplitude is maintained 1.2V p/p & i can't add a 2K to the 333KHz signal, will have other effect which can cause the specification to fail.

    Is there any method that you suggest without adding this resistance to a input signal?

    Regards,
    Kris



  6. #6
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 15,446, Level: 29

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    2,844
    Helped
    674 / 674
    Points
    15,446
    Level
    29

    Re: [Moved]: Need to add signals, with different frequencies

    You can add any number of signals in any ratio using an op-amp. If all the input resistors are equal, then the signals are just added but if the resistors are not equal, the signals are scaled and added. But beware of the phase shifts after the amplifier or the capacitor (as seen above). Phase shift is frequency dependent.



    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  7. #7
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 13,005, Level: 27

    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    2,213
    Helped
    752 / 752
    Points
    13,005
    Level
    27

    Re: [Moved]: Need to add signals, with different frequencies

    Resistive addition is the only practical way to go about this, but it may need some buffering either at the input or output, depending on the impedances involved.
    Cheers, Tony.



--[[ ]]--