Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

TIG Welder, inverter gate driver

Status
Not open for further replies.

masterx81

Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi!
I've "repaired" a chinese TIG welder (repair is a big word, only had cold solders, loose fastons, loose screws that must handle 200a, etc. Nothing burnt) and i'm studying the circuits for try to improve them.
I have a basic understanding of swtiching technologies (i know how they work and with some limits i can repair them), but i not know every aspect. I've learned on the net how a mosfet must be driven, the Qg curve, conduction and switching power loses, etc, but would be great to have some advice... I use this welder as a "learning bench" as have quite simple circuits (i've followed the tracks and i have all the schematics of the whole circuits :bang::shock::-D), and as far i can understand, it's not much optimized.
I've started to analyze the inverter, it have an H bridge composed of 3 paralleled n-channel mofets (23N50E - **broken link removed**, every of them have a 68ohm gate resistor) per branch, the output of the H bridge goes to 3 power transformers (via 3 4,7uF capacitors).
The chip controlling the the bridge (via an isolation transformer) is a KA3525A, the calculated switching frequency is 115khz (c=1nF, R=6.2k).
This is the schematic of the driver:
Gate driver
gate.PNG
And this is the output (at the gate, after the 68 ohm gate, DC trace source-gate):
Low side
Low1-Post-R.PNG
High side
High1-Post-R.PNG
1uS/div, 5v/div for both, near 30vpp, the actual switching frequency is 103.1khz