+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Full Member level 3
    Points: 1,560, Level: 9

    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    172
    Helped
    3 / 3
    Points
    1,560
    Level
    9

    cells set to dont use in library

    While trying to do PnR of a design, I see that the dont use attribute of 95% of the standard cells in the .lib file of the standard cell library are set to be true. Why they are included in the lib file if they are supposed to be set to dont use?? Can I change the dont use attribute and use the cells in my design?

    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  2. #2
    Newbie level 3
    Points: 657, Level: 5

    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    5
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    657
    Level
    5

    Re: cells set to dont use in library

    Answer is YES. How would you do that depends on the tool.

    Every mature PnR tool has option to set this attribute to false on list of cells. You'll have to refer to manual to find the syntax.

    Has.
    http://amzn.to/2tP6lBi



  3. #3
    Full Member level 3
    Points: 1,560, Level: 9

    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    172
    Helped
    3 / 3
    Points
    1,560
    Level
    9

    Re: cells set to dont use in library

    I know that setting the dont use attribute changes the usability of the cell. My question is why most of the cells are being set to don't use in the library? Can I make all those cells usable and use in the design? Or should I take care of something when I change the usability of the cell?



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  4. #4
    Full Member level 5
    Points: 1,575, Level: 9

    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    247
    Helped
    36 / 36
    Points
    1,575
    Level
    9

    Re: cells set to dont use in library

    Quote Originally Posted by biju4u90 View Post
    I know that setting the dont use attribute changes the usability of the cell. My question is why most of the cells are being set to don't use in the library? Can I make all those cells usable and use in the design? Or should I take care of something when I change the usability of the cell?
    Change dont_use attribute to "FALSE", then you can use those cells.
    Before doing so, confirm with library vendor whether it is OK or not.



  5. #5
    Full Member level 3
    Points: 1,560, Level: 9

    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    172
    Helped
    3 / 3
    Points
    1,560
    Level
    9

    Re: cells set to dont use in library

    Quote Originally Posted by slutarius View Post
    Before doing so, confirm with library vendor whether it is OK or not.
    That is my question too. Can we set the attribute to FALSE without the vendor permission and use those cells? Is it the vendor who should say whether it is OK? If it is not OK, it will be just like a library without those unusable cells. Why should the vendors add unusable cells in the library?



  6. #6
    Full Member level 5
    Points: 1,575, Level: 9

    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    247
    Helped
    36 / 36
    Points
    1,575
    Level
    9

    Re: cells set to dont use in library

    Quote Originally Posted by biju4u90 View Post
    That is my question too. Can we set the attribute to FALSE without the vendor permission and use those cells? Is it the vendor who should say whether it is OK? If it is not OK, it will be just like a library without those unusable cells. Why should the vendors add unusable cells in the library?
    The dont_use attribute library can be from:
    - Library vendor. You can ask Library Vendor/designer if it is from the library itself.
    - Tool behavior. You can ask Tool vendor if the Tool add that atribute automaticall to the library.

    Making the decision not to use a cell in a library depended on:
    - Library vendor who has the experience on characteristic failure after fabrication result.
    - Your design has different conditions than library's range. This can cause function failure or fab failure.

    So, you need to confirm with library vendor before making the decision to use the cells.

    I hope you can clarify your problem clearly before having the solution.



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  7. #7
    Full Member level 3
    Points: 1,560, Level: 9

    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    172
    Helped
    3 / 3
    Points
    1,560
    Level
    9

    Re: cells set to dont use in library

    Quote Originally Posted by slutarius View Post
    The dont_use attribute library can be from:
    - Tool behavior. You can ask Tool vendor if the Tool add that atribute automaticall to the library.
    I don't think the tool adds the attribute automatically, because when I open the .lib file as a text file, I can see most of the cells to be set as don't use.
    What I don't understand is that why the library vendors provide unusable cells in the library!! To be precise, in my library, 95% of the cells are set to be don't use!! If they are not supposed to be used, why do they give them in the library?



  8. #8
    Full Member level 5
    Points: 1,575, Level: 9

    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    247
    Helped
    36 / 36
    Points
    1,575
    Level
    9

    Re: cells set to dont use in library

    Quote Originally Posted by biju4u90 View Post
    I don't think the tool adds the attribute automatically, because when I open the .lib file as a text file, I can see most of the cells to be set as don't use.
    What I don't understand is that why the library vendors provide unusable cells in the library!! To be precise, in my library, 95% of the cells are set to be don't use!! If they are not supposed to be used, why do they give them in the library?
    Then, ask your library vendor.



--[[ ]]--