Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[SOLVED] matching 5 transistors with 2 fingers

Status
Not open for further replies.

preethi19

Full Member level 5
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi i need to match 5 transistor (A,B,C,D,E) each having 2 fingers. So the total is 10. So 3x4=12.. So i add 2 dummies (0) and i have laid them as

D E 0
A B C
-------
A B C
D E 0

Is this a right way to do. Or should i make an even square matrix by adding 4x4=16... So by adding 6 dummies. Am i missing something??? Any tip while generally doing layout. Thanks!!!!

Hi,

I am not a professional on layout design, however, I know from my advisor that once he adviced me to put dummy transistors at the beginnings and alsı at the ends of each line. So the real transistors located in the middle. I think this is related to matching all the nodes of the transistors. For example in your illustration, if transistor D and E are intended to be matched, although they are at the same sizes they are not matched exactly. Because left of the transistor D is blank but transistor E has neighbours at both sides. So the impedances that are seen by the nodes of D and E are different. If you also add a dummy transistor to the left of transistor D, D and E would be better matched.

All in all, I think it is better to add some dummy transistors at both sides.