Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[51] Programming in C language for 8051 Micro Controller

Status
Not open for further replies.

jignesh doshi

Full Member level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello all,

Greetings for the day...!!!

still today i write program in assembly language for 8051 Micro Controller but Now i want to write program in C language and i have basic knowledge of C language.

my problem is if i want to do addition, multiplication, hex to decimal conversion, etc.. for more then 8 bits then how can i write.

Logic is same as assembly language or is there any other formula that i will use and my work is easy?

for writing programs in c for 8051 , you must have a basic exposure in C.
The examples in the compiler installation you are going to use for 8051 (Keil or sdcc) will give you the idea.

Logic is same as assembly language or is there any other formula that i will use and my work is easy?
It's much easier that writing assembler, arithmetic operations and I/O format conversions can be performed by C-compiler libraries. For the latter, you should read the compiler documentation.

my problem is if i want to do addition, multiplication, hex to decimal conversion, etc.. for more then 8 bits then how can i write.

One of the benefits of using high level programming languages (like C) is that you can write code (somewhat) freely and let the compiler worry about the exact conversion to assembler.

I.E
Code:
A = B * C ;
May translate to different machine instructions when compiled for 8 , 16 or 32 bit devices.