Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Network theory: travelling waves vs power waves

Status
Not open for further replies.

mtwieg

Advanced Member level 6
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
My network theory is self-taught, so maybe there are some basic answers to this, but while writing my thesis this keeps coming up:

Why aren't power waves (as defined by Kurokawa's scattering matrix paper) see more use than travelling waves in research and literature? Seems to me that the power wave reflection coefficient s has more utility than the travelling wave reflection coefficient Γ, especially at circuit junctions where the impedance looking in both directions is complex. Perhaps it is because it is much more difficult to measure power waves than travelling waves with a VNA? Is there even a method to experimentally measure s at a junction with arbitrary impedances?

Why aren't power waves (as defined by Kurokawa's scattering matrix paper) see more use than travelling waves in research and literature?
You are misunderstanding.
Power Wave formulation is most used in RF world.
For example, S-parameters of Keysight ADS are based on Power Wave formulation.

See https://www.designers-guide.org/Forum/YaBB.pl?num=1266403928/#10

Perhaps it is because it is much more difficult to measure power waves than travelling waves with a VNA?
For real value reference impedance, there is no difference between Power Wave and Voltage Wave formulations.
VNA can treat only real value reference impedance.