Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Overcurrent in Grid Tie Inverter

Status
Not open for further replies.

dann11

Full Member level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
What is the possible cause of overcurrent in Grid Tie Inverter? and how should I deal with that?

While I'm not an expert at grid tie inverters, the obvious reason seems your control strategy.

Wouldn't any grid tie inverter have closed loop current control by default? So either your reference generator is generating high currents, which it definitely shouldn't, or your current controller is unstable, which can be the more likely reason (although you can't rule out an issue being in the reference current generator itself).

Does the overcurrent occur at a certain point in each mains waveform? When mains voltage amplitude is near zero (twice per cycle), is your amplitude high? Then that means your waveform is pouring current at the wrong point in the mains waveform. It could be a power factor issue.

Does the overcurrent occur at a certain point in each mains waveform? When mains voltage amplitude is near zero (twice per cycle), is your amplitude high? Then that means your waveform is pouring current at the wrong point in the mains waveform. It could be a power factor issue.

so an unexpected voltage spike across my zero point is possibly the reason of the overcurrent? and the solution should be to produced a perfect sine wave in my output?

To maximize the bandwidth, you should use a cascode on the phototransistor.