Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

corrupted data read from DDR3, refresh time limitation? Limitation of DDR3 technology

Status
Not open for further replies.

picnanard

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi,
I am new in DDR3 developments.
I am trying a brute force read/write DDR3 sequence. The test pattern is a 32 bits counter big endian. At first I write a one shot 128 Mbytes packet in then DDR3 and then I read them. This represents approximately one second of data storing. I remark that the 2 first Mbytes of data stored in DDR3 are OK but the all the rest is corrupted. Indeed, as you can see in the Figure below, the highest byte “00” of the 32-bit counter become a “08”.
Bytes that are stored for a “long time”, as the highest byte of my counter, seems to be lost after an unknown time. Is this due to a problem of refresh cycle?

read.png

The Chipscope DDR3 data acquisition show this problem may come from DDR3 controller or DDR3 memory.

chipscope.PNG

Is there any limit time duration of data storing in DDR3? Do I reached the refresh cycle time limitation (if any?)? Do I forgot any important parameter?

The Chipscope DDR3 data acquisition when i write in DDR3 memory.(addr f8008)

chipscope_write.png
chipscope_write.png

Thanks,

Test configuration :

ISE 14.7 with MIG7 1.9

MT41K256M16xx – 125, 256 Mbyte – 16 bits.

Hi,

I can try it but ddr3 controller always work 100MHz, it's lower speed for a ddr memory.

you can write once and then cycle the read test. This will show if your theory is correct. Likewise, you can check to make sure you never write that to device.