Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[SOLVED] Fan Speed Controller Circuit - 78L05 and 555

Status
Not open for further replies.

IagoPereira

Newbie level 5
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello there!
Before anything, this is my first post, I'm a portuguese Engineering student and I'm trying to build this little project of mine... A cooling table for my brothers laptop!
My target is to make a small regulator, so that when I speed up the fans the LED's 4,5,6,7 and 8 turn on, one by one as I speed up the fans, and when I turn the turbo switch on the 555IC makes those LED1,2and 3 flash! The turbo and flashing LED is working, but I'm not sure about the rest, in attachement I leave the schematic, please tell if this circuit is going to work, and if not, why and please help me fix it!

Attachments

• Design_1.png
    Design_1.png
    10.4 KB · Views: 130

First off all remove the ground from S1, it will short out your supply. The arrangement for your three 7805s is exactly wrong! because as you vary the voltage across the motor the LEDs get a steady voltage. A much better way of doing it is to use a lm3914 IC. It takes a variable voltage input and drives the leds.
Frank

IC2 should be a variable regulator like an LM338 rather than a 78L05z.

Thanks, I will make a new circuit using the LM3914 and post it here for you to see, can it be?

- - - Updated - - -

So, now I made this, I dont know why, but it was not suposed to a 7805 but an LM317, whatever though... So, now, what do I do for the input?Design_2.png