+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Newbie level 3
    Points: 26, Level: 1

    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    3
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    26
    Level
    1

    question about area after synthesis

    What should I do if I find out the area after synthesis is larger than I expected?
    (this is a question that I encountered during an interview, can any one help me find the answer? Thank you )

    •   Alt3rd October 2015, 08:46

      advertising

        
       

  2. #2
    Junior Member level 1
    Points: 727, Level: 5

    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    16
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    727
    Level
    5

    Re: question about area after synthesis

    I don't know the answer, but i would check:

    1) the correctness of the RTL description
    2) How the datapath blocks have been implemented
    3) If I have imposed the correct timing constraints (obviously area is strongly dependent on the timing constraints that you impose).



    •   Alt3rd October 2015, 13:31

      advertising

        
       

  3. #3
    Full Member level 3
    Points: 1,342, Level: 8

    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    158
    Helped
    3 / 3
    Points
    1,342
    Level
    8

    Re: question about area after synthesis

    From my very limited knowledge on synthesis, I can say this.
    You can add some area constraints like set_max_area during synthesis. There is a trade of between area, delay and power and to reduce area, you have to compromise on the others. Another method could be changing the effort level to low so that delay will be increased, but area and power could be reduced. I don't know if there are other better methods.



    •   Alt5th October 2015, 06:10

      advertising

        
       

  4. #4
    Newbie level 3
    Points: 26, Level: 1

    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    3
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    26
    Level
    1

    Re: question about area after synthesis

    Hi, thank you for your help. I was wondering that could you give me some examples about the timing constraints you talked about in point 3?



  5. #5
    Newbie level 3
    Points: 26, Level: 1

    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    3
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    26
    Level
    1

    Re: question about area after synthesis

    Quote Originally Posted by Dar89 View Post
    I don't know the answer, but i would check:

    1) the correctness of the RTL description
    2) How the datapath blocks have been implemented
    3) If I have imposed the correct timing constraints (obviously area is strongly dependent on the timing constraints that you impose).
    Hi, thank you for your help. I was wondering that could you give me some examples about the timing constraints you talked about in point 3?



    •   Alt14th October 2015, 05:42

      advertising

        
       

  6. #6
    Full Member level 5
    Points: 2,362, Level: 11

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    255
    Helped
    88 / 88
    Points
    2,362
    Level
    11

    Re: question about area after synthesis

    I am not sure if the question is valid one at all. the idea of synthesis is not get an area but convert the RTL into gates. The idea is to get a reasonable gate count or rather gate types(like the kind of flops you are using multi-bit or single bit). This is important because of the tools like P&R or timing will upsize/downsize the gates as needed. They don't do much of gate level optimization.

    Area will be impacted more by P&R. But if your area is large then either your estimation is wrong or your constraints are wrong. Constraints will be clock frequency, choice of stdcell libraries, Vt of the devices used, aspect ratio of the estimated block area....



--[[ ]]--