+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Full Member level 6
    Points: 3,205, Level: 13
    Achievements:
    7 years registered

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    India
    Posts
    394
    Helped
    52 / 52
    Points
    3,205
    Level
    13

    Setup and Hold Fix after postRoute

    Hi All

    Is there any special commands for fixing Setup and Hold violations after post Route.

    optDesign doesn't looks good and it couldn't optimize the design.

    so I think I have to use setOptMode to set some values.. But I dont know the exact parameters. Can anyone Please Help me?

    thanks

    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  2. #2
    Full Member level 3
    Points: 1,923, Level: 10

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    169
    Helped
    13 / 13
    Points
    1,923
    Level
    10

    Re: Setup and Hold Fix after postRoute

    Hi

    Try from gui mode,there are many options to explore,you can use whatever u want there for your design.



  3. #3
    Full Member level 6
    Points: 3,205, Level: 13
    Achievements:
    7 years registered

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    India
    Posts
    394
    Helped
    52 / 52
    Points
    3,205
    Level
    13

    Re: Setup and Hold Fix after postRoute

    Hi

    thanks for the comment but the options also not worked for me. While running optDesign there was only less number of instances are added and deleted so that i think I am not getting any improvement in timing.

    So I think I should use some other options. and I dont Know which are the best methods to use to resolve the fore mentioned problem.

    I think the nets are fixed but I don't know exactly. Do you think I have to run ECO again.

    Thanks



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  4. #4
    Full Member level 3
    Points: 1,923, Level: 10

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    169
    Helped
    13 / 13
    Points
    1,923
    Level
    10

    Re: Setup and Hold Fix after postRoute

    Hi kenambo

    If there is any timing issue problem why dont u go back and check floorplanning and placement ?

    for timing fix


    have u used ecochangecell and ecoaddrepeater for setup and hold fixes??



  5. #5
    Advanced Member level 4
    Points: 8,521, Level: 22
    Achievements:
    7 years registered Created Blog entry
    dpaul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,276
    Helped
    275 / 275
    Points
    8,521
    Level
    22
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: Setup and Hold Fix after postRoute

    Quote Originally Posted by kenambo View Post
    Hi All
    Is there any special commands for fixing Setup and Hold violations after post Route.
    thanks
    You have to deal with them separately. The standard practice in ASIC/SoC designing is to fix all setup violations before the PnR stage and let the layout engineers fix the hold violations during the PnR stage.

    According to the error you are currently having, go back to the relevant development flow stage and fix the problems.
    FPGA enthusiast!



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  6. #6
    Full Member level 6
    Points: 3,205, Level: 13
    Achievements:
    7 years registered

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    India
    Posts
    394
    Helped
    52 / 52
    Points
    3,205
    Level
    13

    Re: Setup and Hold Fix after postRoute

    Hi

    Actually I already fixed the timing till POST CTS stage. After that I did nanoRoute. then when I gave timeDesign -postRoute command I got these timing violations.

    So I am in the middle of nowhere to spot the reason. Anyway I am checking from first. But I think there must something I am missing.

    thanks



  7. #7
    Full Member level 3
    Points: 1,923, Level: 10

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    169
    Helped
    13 / 13
    Points
    1,923
    Level
    10

    Re: Setup and Hold Fix after postRoute

    Hi

    Generally after routing and extracting rc values for the nets,u have to concentrate on timing fixes.



--[[ ]]--