Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Is it possible to make Capacitive touch operated tone generator with microcontroller?

Status
Not open for further replies.

nishy555

Newbie level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello… Im a mechanical engineer & product designer from india.....Im trying to make a project....for that I need TO produce continuous tone at 6 different frequencies (between 17000hz to20000hz) or (between 20000hz to 260000hz) from single sounder/buzzer. And these 6 frequencies should be operated with 6 capacitive touch points. When ever I touch one of these buttons specific frequency should produce….Can anybody please clear my doubts….

1) Is using microcontroller is my best choice? (Presently im using 555 timers in Astable mode to produce specific frequency with 6 Toggle switches.

2) Is it possible to produce a continuous tone at specific frequency with line of code using microcontroller? Im working around 20k frequency….Most of the micro controllers working speed is several Megahertz does this produce tone brakes or any other problem?

3) What is the smallest & least power consuming microcontroller I can use?

4) How many pins & bits microcontroller im going to need?

Sorry for too many questions. Thank a lot all of you :)

For minimal component count, you'll use a microcontroller that can mimic a touch controller with it's analog inputs. E.g. microchip has application notes about this operation. A separate touch controller like NXP PCF8885 may nevertheless achieve lower power consumption.