+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Member level 4
    Points: 1,757, Level: 9
    Achievements:
    7 years registered

    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    78
    Helped
    4 / 4
    Points
    1,757
    Level
    9

    MOSFET to switch AC load that is a transformer

    I have the following MOSFET circuit and its working without the load connected

    http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-GiA1j0kY28.../ac+switch.png

    Once I connect the Neutral which goes to a 220V to 380V transformer and fire the mosfet for just 1ms it kills the MOSFET. The MOSFET is rated 1000V and continuous current of 2.5A, PEAK pulse 5A. The transformer is just 220V to 380V step up transformer that is just 1VA.

    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Points: 77,099, Level: 67
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    Awards:
    Most Frequent Poster 3rd Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    15,618
    Helped
    3559 / 3559
    Points
    77,099
    Level
    67

    Re: MOSFET to switch AC load that is a transformer

    Hi,

    A transformer is a big inductive load. When you switch it OFF, you will see a very high voltage pulse across the switch, this is killing your FET.

    Connect a snubber circuit across your switch or tvs, or a mov or similar overvoltage protection circuits.

    Klaus


    1 members found this post helpful.

    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  3. #3
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 30,247, Level: 42
    BigBoss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Turkey
    Posts
    4,424
    Helped
    1334 / 1334
    Points
    30,247
    Level
    42

    Re: MOSFET to switch AC load that is a transformer

    Energy across the primary side of the transformer appears when the MOS is off and this energy is converted into voltage and this can be very high depending on inductor value and ON time pulse width.
    As KlausST said, a snubber circuit must be used to prevent this energy discharging over the transistor.



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  4. #4
    Member level 4
    Points: 1,757, Level: 9
    Achievements:
    7 years registered

    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    78
    Helped
    4 / 4
    Points
    1,757
    Level
    9

    Re: MOSFET to switch AC load that is a transformer

    Well I guess the snubber circuit doesnt work. In theory it should. Not really sure what the issue it. There was no load on the secondary side.

    The Resistor was 62ohms and the cap was 680uF. I put an MOV across the L and N of the transformer as extra protection. Snubber circuit was something like this

    http://www.ibiblio.org/kuphaldt/elec...ital/04015.png

    Not sure why its not working. The MOSFET works great when its not connected. The switch is placed on the neutral side of the incoming AC source. Once turned on its permanently shorted.



  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Points: 259,307, Level: 100
    Awards:
    1st Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Bochum, Germany
    Posts
    45,270
    Helped
    13773 / 13773
    Points
    259,307
    Level
    100

    Re: MOSFET to switch AC load that is a transformer

    The Resistor was 62ohms and the cap was 680uF
    Really 680 µF? That's bad. Hopefully just a typo.

    I would rather try with bipolar TVS diodes or varistors than a snubber, giving better defined peak voltage.

    Recent MOSFET have a considerable avalanche energy rating, it's no completely clear to me why the MOSFET was damaged. Are you sure that the connected transformer is healthy?


    1 members found this post helpful.

  6. #6
    Member level 4
    Points: 1,757, Level: 9
    Achievements:
    7 years registered

    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    78
    Helped
    4 / 4
    Points
    1,757
    Level
    9

    Re: MOSFET to switch AC load that is a transformer

    Thanks for the reply. I just checked the connection and realized I connected the Drain to Drain and using the source on connectors.

    I think I will use your advise and place a MOV instead of a SNUBBER.



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  7. #7
    Member level 4
    Points: 1,757, Level: 9
    Achievements:
    7 years registered

    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    78
    Helped
    4 / 4
    Points
    1,757
    Level
    9

    Re: MOSFET to switch AC load that is a transformer

    Yes its works perfectly. Thanks.



--[[ ]]--