Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Instiating submodules in verilog

Status
Not open for further replies.

QMA

Member level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Dear all
I am new to verilog. I have written the below code for full adder using two half adders. it is giving me syntax error
"Can not find port w2 on this module"
. The code for half adder is given at the end. Please help me in this regard.
Code for full adder
Code:
module Full_adder(
    input cin,
    input a,
    input b,
    output cout,
    output sum
    );

wire w1,w2,w3;

H_adder h1(.w2(s),
			  .w1(c),
			  .a(a),
			  .b(b)
			  );

H_adder h2(.sum(s),
           .w3(c),
			  .w2(w2),
			  .cin(cin));
or (cout,w1,w3);

endmodule

Code for half adder
Code:
module H_adder(
    input a,
    input b,
    output s,
    output c
    );

assign s = a^b;
assign c = a&b;

endmodule

The port names should be identical in the definition as well as the instantiation. Your definition has ports a,b,s &c. But your instantiation has different ports(w1,w2,a,b) and (w2,w3,sum & cin).

You use the following format.

Code:
.sub_module_port_name (signal_name)

V

Helpful Answer Positive Rating
The port names should be identical in the definition as well as the instantiation. Your definition has ports a,b,s &c. But your instantiation has different ports(w1,w2,a,b) and (w2,w3,sum & cin).

it is not giving me error for the other ports like for w1, w3 or cin etc. i am not getting it actually.

- - - Updated - - -

You use the following format.

Code:
.sub_module_port_name (signal_name)

bundle of thanks dear. it has worked