+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Newbie level 4
    Points: 878, Level: 6

    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    7
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    878
    Level
    6

    Configuring AT89C51RD2 for RS232

    I have a AT89C51RD2 microcontroller but accidentally disconnected a VCC or GND to pin connection and now RS232 communication is not possible. I do not remember what the connection was exactly but it was VCC or GND to some pin. Does anyone know what the connection could be? I am using a plain RS232 cable.

    My final goal is to load a hex file using FLIP to the microcontroller.

    I am not familiar with hardware at all so please forgive me if my description is severely lacking.

    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  2. #2
    Full Member level 6
    Points: 2,756, Level: 12

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    India
    Posts
    380
    Helped
    3 / 3
    Points
    2,756
    Level
    12

    Re: Configuring AT89C51RD2 for RS232

    See if micro controller is properly resetting or not. Or use USB to serial converter and connect Rx and Tx pin directly to micro controller.



  3. #3
    Newbie level 4
    Points: 878, Level: 6

    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    7
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    878
    Level
    6

    Re: Configuring AT89C51RD2 for RS232

    Quote Originally Posted by djc View Post
    See if micro controller is properly resetting or not. Or use USB to serial converter and connect Rx and Tx pin directly to micro controller.
    Thank you for replying. Unfortunately, the USB to serial converters I have are defective, so I can only use the serial cable. I do not know how to check if it is properly resetting. This is what the microcontroller and board look like:



    The connection that was removed was in the white section.



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  4. #4
    Advanced Member level 1
    Points: 2,589, Level: 11

    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    481
    Helped
    88 / 88
    Points
    2,589
    Level
    11

    Re: Configuring AT89C51RD2 for RS232

    What connection removed in the board? Whether it is a wire connection or PCB track cut or any pin breakage in controller? Your image is not quite clear...



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  5. #5
    Newbie level 4
    Points: 878, Level: 6

    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    7
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    878
    Level
    6

    Re: Configuring AT89C51RD2 for RS232

    It was just a wire conection



  6. #6
    Newbie level 4
    Points: 878, Level: 6

    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    7
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    878
    Level
    6

    Re: Configuring AT89C51RD2 for RS232

    I have a functioning usb to serial converter now. However, there are coupling nuts attached to it and my serial device has coupling nuts as well so I cannot connect them. I do not think the nuts on the converter are removable. If I remove the nuts on my device, will it be damaged?

    front


    back


    top



  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Points: 32,120, Level: 43
    ads-ee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    7,427
    Helped
    1742 / 1742
    Points
    32,120
    Level
    43

    Re: Configuring AT89C51RD2 for RS232

    It's not likely to be damaged removing the nuts, but if it's like most of those type of connectors the nuts are the only thing keeping the metal shell connected to the nylon/plastic part.



  8. #8
    Newbie level 4
    Points: 878, Level: 6

    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    7
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    878
    Level
    6

    Re: Configuring AT89C51RD2 for RS232

    Quote Originally Posted by ads-ee View Post
    It's not likely to be damaged removing the nuts, but if it's like most of those type of connectors the nuts are the only thing keeping the metal shell connected to the nylon/plastic part.
    I see what you mean. Is the metal shell quite necessary?



  9. #9
    Super Moderator
    Points: 32,120, Level: 43
    ads-ee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    7,427
    Helped
    1742 / 1742
    Points
    32,120
    Level
    43

    Re: Configuring AT89C51RD2 for RS232

    Unless you want a loose dangling connector that will likely break after a few uses, then yes you want the shell firmly mounted to the plastic.

    Most of the time when I've seen stuff like this where clearance would be an issue the metal shell is mounted with rivets, not screws and nuts.



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  10. #10
    Newbie level 4
    Points: 878, Level: 6

    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    7
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    878
    Level
    6

    Re: Configuring AT89C51RD2 for RS232

    Quote Originally Posted by ads-ee View Post
    Unless you want a loose dangling connector that will likely break after a few uses, then yes you want the shell firmly mounted to the plastic.

    Most of the time when I've seen stuff like this where clearance would be an issue the metal shell is mounted with rivets, not screws and nuts.
    I understand. So there is probably no solution with this specific converter and device, correct?



  11. #11
    Super Moderator
    Points: 32,120, Level: 43
    ads-ee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    7,427
    Helped
    1742 / 1742
    Points
    32,120
    Level
    43

    Re: Configuring AT89C51RD2 for RS232

    Quote Originally Posted by jeff7tg View Post
    I understand. So there is probably no solution with this specific converter and device, correct?
    Didn't say that. You could jury rig something. Like find screws with identical threading but a flathead torx or phillips type. Or get a rivet tool.



--[[ ]]--