+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Junior Member level 2
    Points: 161, Level: 2

    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    21
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    161
    Level
    2

    1dB Compression Point in LTSpice

    I am using LTSpice and have difficult trying to find ways to simulate the 1dB compression point for a circuit how am I supposed to go with it?

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1db point.jpg 
Views:	9 
Size:	61.1 KB 
ID:	115466

    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  2. #2
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 30,426, Level: 42
    BigBoss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Turkey
    Posts
    4,460
    Helped
    1340 / 1340
    Points
    30,426
    Level
    42

    Re: 1dB Compression Point in LTSpice

    What does it mean ? This circuit has no input, what P1dB compression point you're looking for ???
    P1dB is a nonlinearity concerned metric and it's ised to charaterize Amplifiers,PAs,LNAs,Mixers, etc. so the "driven" circuits.

    You got an modulated oscillator then an amplifier... it doesn't make sense...



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  3. #3
    Junior Member level 2
    Points: 161, Level: 2

    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    21
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    161
    Level
    2

    Re: 1dB Compression Point in LTSpice

    Okay let's say I am supposed to do it based on the oscillator and power amplifier alone? How am I going to go about it?

    The first stage is a oscillator where I am supposed to pump a signal in at Q2 using a pulse. The second stage is a power amplifier.



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  4. #4
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 33,985, Level: 45

    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    4,849
    Helped
    1441 / 1441
    Points
    33,985
    Level
    45

    Re: 1dB Compression Point in LTSpice

    There is a mistake in the schematic, you have the 50 ohms load (R4) in parallel with R5, which is one of the amplifier DC bias resistor. You need a series cap for DC blocking.



  5. #5
    Junior Member level 2
    Points: 161, Level: 2

    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    21
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    161
    Level
    2

    Re: 1dB Compression Point in LTSpice

    It is to simulate the impedance of an connector when doing hardware implementation



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Points: 260,330, Level: 100
    Awards:
    1st Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Bochum, Germany
    Posts
    45,463
    Helped
    13830 / 13830
    Points
    260,330
    Level
    100

    Re: 1dB Compression Point in LTSpice

    The compression point can be determined for the amplifier.

    Use sine input source in transient analysis, for an exact compression point measurement, determine fundamental wave in fourier analysis, determine with which input level the gain drops by 1 dB. You'll get approximately the same result by looking at output AC Vrms.



--[[ ]]--