Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

diode is overheating

Status
Not open for further replies.

Travis Shaffer

Newbie level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I made a solar powered usb charger, like the altoids tin ones, and one of the diodes keeps getting really hot. I am fairly new to DIY electrical projects, but I can't figure it out. What I have Is a 9v solar pannel on the positive lead I have a 12v diode on the negative side of the diode I have the positive lead to the battery and another positive lead. on this lead I have another 12v diode then that is conceded to a 5v regulator and that is conceded to the usb. It is the second diode that is getting really hot. Anything helps thanks.

can you make a diagram or schematic?

I don't know what a 12V diode is ...........can you give a part number?

is it like this

solar panel------------diode----------battery----------diode-----------5V regulator------------USB

it is giving 5V at the USB pin?
perhaps you are using the wrong type of diode
or have a short
or mis-wired it somewhere

- - - Updated - - -

is the 5V regulator an IC?
it could be it is unstable and oscillating, pulling too much current
what battery are you using?

Yes your layout is correct for the set up. And the diode is rated for up to 12v. It is reading 5v at the usb, and I forgot to say that I can turn the system on ( with out a device plugged in) and it does not heat up. Once I plug a device in and turn the system on it starts to heat up.

What heat sinking does your diode have? Assume you
gave some care to the regulator, but the diode sees