+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Member level 1
    Points: 397, Level: 4

    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Jalandhar, punjab
    Posts
    38
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    397
    Level
    4

    switching 220 V AC electric bulb using relay through arduino

    my aim is to switch an electric bulb operating at 220v AC..for this purpose i use a 12V DC relay that can operate for 220 V appliance according to its data sheet.
    my relay circuit is
    http://obrazki.elektroda.pl/5442830400_1421232984.png


    now, when i use a regulated power supply( i have used a desktop PC's SMPS unit for power supply that gives 12v, 5v, and 3.3v) then if i give 5v from that power supply to the pin of microcontroller , i get a click sound from the relay and the bulb gets ON and when the pin is kept open bulb get off( Every thing is fine till now relay circuit is working)
    but when i use an arduino uno board for the same purpose (i have 12v, 5v, 3.3 v and gnd pins on the board so i give all of the supply from the board itself now not from the seprate supply)
    when i connect 12v gnd and 5v at the pin that goes to MCU pin the relay is making noise.. i am getting a continues clicking sound from the relay.. that means relay is switching continusly... and if i connect the bulb to it it may damage my bulb( i assume, coz relay is switching fast and continuously)

    why iam getting the noise of clicking continusly when i use arduino instead of the power supply
    now how i could solve this problem ? any suggestions?

    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  2. #2
    Full Member level 2
    Points: 1,689, Level: 9

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    India
    Posts
    133
    Helped
    2 / 2
    Points
    1,689
    Level
    9

    Re: switching 220 V AC electric bulb using relay through arduino

    I am having less experience with arduino, but by experience on other microcontrollers, I am feeling that the pin at which you are applying 5V is not constantly applied because of which the relay is switching continously following your discontinous 5V touching to input. But i hope there are many who help on this forum so post your code.



  3. #3
    Member level 1
    Points: 397, Level: 4

    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Jalandhar, punjab
    Posts
    38
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    397
    Level
    4

    Re: switching 220 V AC electric bulb using relay through arduino

    Quote Originally Posted by Mrunal Ahirrao View Post
    I am having less experience with arduino, but by experience on other microcontrollers, I am feeling that the pin at which you are applying 5V is not constantly applied because of which the relay is switching continously following your discontinous 5V touching to input. But i hope there are many who help on this forum so post your code.
    i know the problem i want solution
    and i dont think there is any code needed applying 5 volt directly to the pin for MCU should switch the relay to normally open.. but its like it is switching on and off continuously( fast clicking sound)



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  4. #4
    Advanced Member level 1
    Points: 3,250, Level: 13
    Achievements:
    Created Blog entry
    --BawA--'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Noida, INDIA
    Posts
    479
    Helped
    42 / 42
    Points
    3,250
    Level
    13
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: switching 220 V AC electric bulb using relay through arduino

    I presume that all the connections are tight , how did u power the arduino?
    make sure that you give atleast 8V to Vin pin or DC jack of arduino . I have seen some errorneous operations when arduino is powered with 5V at Vin pin.




    Regards



  5. #5
    Advanced Member level 4
    Points: 8,209, Level: 21
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    paulfjujo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    France 01120
    Posts
    1,324
    Helped
    269 / 269
    Points
    8,209
    Level
    21

    Re: switching 220 V AC electric bulb using relay through arduino

    hello,

    What is the coil resistance (ohms) value of your 12V relay ?
    Arduino output level is 5V ?
    How do you drive your relay, show your schematic.



  6. #6
    Banned
    Points: 12,436, Level: 26

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    2,528
    Helped
    538 / 538
    Points
    12,436
    Level
    26

    Re: switching 220 V AC electric bulb using relay through arduino

    Power for the relay is not sufficient and hence you see the relay chatter.



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  7. #7
    Full Member level 6
    Points: 2,871, Level: 12
    Ogu Reginald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Nigeria
    Posts
    369
    Helped
    45 / 45
    Points
    2,871
    Level
    12

    Re: switching 220 V AC electric bulb using relay through arduino

    Quote Originally Posted by --BawA-- View Post
    I presume that all the connections are tight , how did u power the arduino?
    make sure that you give atleast 8V to Vin pin or DC jack of arduino . I have seen some errorneous operations when arduino is powered with 5V at Vin pin.




    Regards
    I agree with the above, check well to see if all the pins are connected very well to avoid partial contact. I also suggest you using another arduino to see if you are still getting the same experience.
    "... It's the politicians who are to blame for failing to come to an agreement and resorting to violence."



--[[ ]]--