Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Solar panel output voltage and current

Status
Not open for further replies.

Darius Baronas

Member level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi all. I'm new with solar panels. Can I calculate output voltage and current , if I know, that Voc=7V , Isc=0.33A , and load is 30 Ohm ? The source resistance i think is R=7/0,3=23.3 Ohm. Thanks !

A solar cell doesn't act as a source with internal resistance, it has a nonlinear saturation characteristc. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Theory_of_solar_cells

Thus you can't calculate the operation point without knowing the exact characteristic of yout solar cell. You can however estimate it assuming a typical characteristic. I would expect an output voltage around 5 to 6 V.

For real I do not understand mppt tracking. I know that this is implemented with dc-dc converter **** as buck, and using pwm we can change output current and voltage (Pin=Pout) . But how it is related to maximum power ? How source and load impedance are matched in this way ? Sorry for my bad english skills :)

Review the varying solarcell I/V characteristic with different irradiation levels. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mppt
For each irradiation, there's one maximum power point. MPPT is the method to find it.

So, if i want to know output current and voltage from solar cell, i can find the values from I /V curves, correct ? And if i do not know I/V curve, first i have to do some measurements, lets say with solar cell and potentiometer, and get that curve, yes ?

I wanted to find out how my PV cells performed.