Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Input 8-15V output clean 12Volts low ripple for sensor excitation

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tedi

Newbie level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello to all,

i think this is my first post to the community. I am sort of new member and I like this site a lot.
I am a student and electronics hobbist. Now to the point....

I need a low power, power supply with 12V output with low ripple.
The input is a lead acid battery 8-14Volts( with cut-off voltage at 10 volts ).
The 12Volts go to ina125p adc who reads a load cell.

Also in my project there is a microcontroller and GSM module and some other ICs that operate at 3.8V so there is already a LM2596 based power supply.
I want to control the new power supply from the microcontroller.
It is a free project so I can make any modifications I want. But my experience is limited in Power Electronics.

I need some boost help to continue.

you can use simple boost converter if your load is resistive then making a boost converter is really easy or you can find some dedicated IC like LM2596(this is actually buck) which can boost the voltage to the desired level.

An inefficient and (comparatively expensive) solution is a small DC/DC converter followed by a linear regulator... (but it has the advantage of being tiny, foolproof and fast for a one-off project!)