+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Junior Member level 3
    Points: 173, Level: 2

    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    27
    Helped
    1 / 1
    Points
    173
    Level
    2

    Why do need Dummies in layout

    hi all,
    can any one tell why do we place dummies on left and right sides of layout mostly, why not on top and bottom. clear explanation please


    thanks in advance.

    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  2. #2
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 13,109, Level: 27
    Achievements:
    7 years registered

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    2,605
    Helped
    304 / 304
    Points
    13,109
    Level
    27

    Re: Why do need Dummies in layout

    Information in this paper may help:
    http://scholarworks.umass.edu/cgi/vi...context=theses



  3. #3
    Junior Member level 3
    Points: 173, Level: 2

    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    27
    Helped
    1 / 1
    Points
    173
    Level
    2

    Re: Why do need Dummies in layout

    Quote Originally Posted by shaiko View Post
    Information in this paper may help:
    http://scholarworks.umass.edu/cgi/vi...context=theses

    hi skaiko, can u explain the answer in simple words, i need a practical answer with respect to the fabrication process.



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  4. #4
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 13,109, Level: 27
    Achievements:
    7 years registered

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    2,605
    Helped
    304 / 304
    Points
    13,109
    Level
    27

    Re: Why do need Dummies in layout

    Sorry. I'm not a backend expert. Just came across this paper...



  5. #5
    Advanced Member level 3
    Points: 5,769, Level: 18
    Dominik Przyborowski's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    755
    Helped
    318 / 318
    Points
    5,769
    Level
    18

    Re: Why do need Dummies in layout

    We need dummies to avoid proximity effects, higher etching (sorry I forgot proper word for this ) of polysilicon on the edges, etc.

    In some accurate circuits like DACs we used double ring of dummies, in diff pairs single ring from dummies is enough.
    Good and short explanation You can find in the first sections of this chapter


    1 members found this post helpful.

  6. #6
    Junior Member level 3
    Points: 173, Level: 2

    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    27
    Helped
    1 / 1
    Points
    173
    Level
    2

    Re: Why do need Dummies in layout

    Quote Originally Posted by Dominik Przyborowski View Post
    We need dummies to avoid proximity effects, higher etching (sorry I forgot proper word for this ) of polysilicon on the edges, etc.

    In some accurate circuits like DACs we used double ring of dummies, in diff pairs single ring from dummies is enough.
    Good and short explanation You can find in the first sections of this chapter
    hi dominik,
    i got some idea about your answer, but one small doubt, u told that to avoid etching from sides we use dummies, but what about the etching effects from top and bottom



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  7. #7
    Advanced Member level 3
    Points: 5,769, Level: 18
    Dominik Przyborowski's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    755
    Helped
    318 / 318
    Points
    5,769
    Level
    18

    Re: Why do need Dummies in layout

    Usually from top/bottom sides of elements we have contacts to metalization, so for resistors, etching in this regions doesn't changes electrical parameters.
    In mosfets, lack of dummies from one side could affected source/drain region implantation profile due to ions scattering so most often dummies around active tranistors are used.


    //EDIT: I mistook chapters from book. In my previous post should be the link to this chapter



--[[ ]]--