Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Vivado synthesis fail. conditional expression could not be resolved to a constant.

Status
Not open for further replies.

BartlebyScrivener

Member level 5
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
When I try to synthesize with Vivado It seems to not like the way I do my generate loops ... I get the following error

Code:
[Synth 8-196] conditional expression could not be resolved to a constant [filename]

But the code works in simulation, and synthesis with quartus. Googling the error doesn't bring up anything really.

What could this be? This is my first attempt with Vivado so it may be silly, but the way I write my generate loops is as follows.

Code Verilog - [expand]
genvar i;
  generate
    for (i=0; i<M; i++) begin : VIRTUAL_CHANNELS
    // code here
    end
  endgenerate

Thanks/

Ok, for example

Code Verilog - [expand]
(parameter integer INPUT_QUEUE_DEPTH = 4,
  parameter integer N = 5,
  parameter integer M = 5)

genvar i;

generate
      for(i=0; i<N; i++) begin : GENERATE_VOQ
        LIB_VOQ #(.M(M), .DEPTH(INPUT_QUEUE_DEPTH))
          gen_LIB_VOQ (.clk,
                       .ce,
                       .reset_n,
                       .i_data(l_i_data[i]),         // Single input data from upstream router
                       .i_data_val(l_vc_req[i]),     // Valid from routecalc corresponds to required VC
                       .o_en(l_o_en[i]),
                       .o_data(l_data[i]),           // Single output data to switch
                       .o_data_val(l_output_req[i]), // Packed request word to SwitchControl