+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Advanced Member level 3
    Points: 5,376, Level: 17
    Achievements:
    Created Blog entry 7 years registered
    Mithun_K_Das's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Dhaka, Bangladesh, Bangladesh
    Posts
    828
    Helped
    22 / 22
    Points
    5,376
    Level
    17
    Blog Entries
    3

    Auto ranging Voltmeter

    Can anyone give me some useful information how a auto ranging voltmeter works?

    Thanks in advance.

    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  2. #2
    Advanced Member level 2
    Points: 4,323, Level: 15
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    sahu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Uttar pradesh (INDIA)
    Posts
    516
    Helped
    64 / 64
    Points
    4,323
    Level
    15

    Re: Auto ranging Voltmeter

    Quote Originally Posted by Mithun_K_Das View Post
    Can anyone give me some useful information how a auto ranging voltmeter works?

    Thanks in advance.
    what do mean , about auto ranging voltmeter ?
    1 + 1 == 11
    SAHU



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  3. #3
    Advanced Member level 3
    Points: 4,946, Level: 16
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    PA3040's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    865
    Helped
    44 / 44
    Points
    4,946
    Level
    16

    Re: Auto ranging Voltmeter

    Hoped this will help you

    What are the expected ranging?
    https://www.google.lk/url?sa=t&rct=j...0GpITOxaETKNoA



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  4. #4
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 38,590, Level: 48
    Achievements:
    Created Album pictures Created Blog entry 7 years registered
    Tahmid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Silicon Valley, California, USA (from Dhaka, Bangladesh)
    Posts
    4,758
    Helped
    1799 / 1799
    Points
    38,590
    Level
    48
    Blog Entries
    22

    Re: Auto ranging Voltmeter

    Here are some ideas on controlling/optimizing the range:

    A simple thing to do would be to have multiple voltage references for your microcontroller ADC and switch to a lower voltage reference for better accuracy/resolution at lower input voltages. So, the idea could be to start with VREF = 5V for example. Then read the voltage. If it's low for 5V VREF, switch VREF to a lower voltage, for example, 3.5V and then continue doing this until you reach the lowest allowable voltage range.

    Another method you could use is to have a voltage amplifier stage where the microcontroller controls the gain of the amplifier stage and increases the gain if it decides that the input voltage is too low and needs to be amplified.

    In each of these cases, make sure you have some sort of protection scheme - clipping circuit - so that the input voltage doesn't damage the microcontroller ADC input.

    Hope this helps.
    Tahmid.
    Last edited by Tahmid; 22nd February 2014 at 09:24.
    The blissful feeling of helping others is a unique reward that cannot be gotten from anything else.



--[[ ]]--