+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Full Member level 3
    Points: 1,665, Level: 9

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    166
    Helped
    10 / 10
    Points
    1,665
    Level
    9

    Using MAX 232 IC with the BeagleBone Black

    Hi,

    I would like to connect a MAX 232 IC to the beaglebone black, I will use the UART4 serial port of the BeagleBone.

    As the bone runs on 3.0 V and the MAX 232 on +5V I will not be able to use the chip directly.

    So is it possible to run the MAX 232 on 3.0 V instead of 5V, the datasheet mentions a VCC range of -0.3V to +6.0V, so I think this should work, but the recommended voltages are 4.5 to 5.5V.

    Is it OK to run the MAX 232 at 3.0V instead of +5.0V ??

    thanks
    a

    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Points: 38,245, Level: 47
    Achievements:
    Created Album pictures Created Blog entry 7 years registered
    alexan_e's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    11,893
    Helped
    2093 / 2093
    Points
    38,245
    Level
    47
    Blog Entries
    6

    Re: Using MAX 232 IC with the BeagleBone Black

    Use max3232 which is specified for 3v operation
    http://datasheets.maximintegrated.co...22-MAX3241.pdf
    Please don't make requests for help in private using PM. Create a thread in the forum so that other members can benefit from the posted answers.

    Consider reading this before posting : How To Ask Questions The Smart Way



    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  3. #3
    Advanced Member level 1
    Points: 2,880, Level: 12

    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Chennai,India
    Posts
    421
    Helped
    38 / 38
    Points
    2,880
    Level
    12

    Re: Using MAX 232 IC with the BeagleBone Black

    Max 232 can work with 3.3 V supply voltage



    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Points: 49,672, Level: 54
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    keith1200rs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    10,877
    Helped
    2075 / 2075
    Points
    49,672
    Level
    54

    Re: Using MAX 232 IC with the BeagleBone Black

    Quote Originally Posted by amayilsamy View Post
    Max 232 can work with 3.3 V supply voltage
    You must be reading a different datasheet to me: http://www.ti.com/lit/ds/symlink/max232.pdf

    "Recommended operating conditions 4.5V to 5.5V" - page 3

    Keith
    I started life with nothing and I've still got most of it left. (Seasick Steve)



  5. #5
    Advanced Member level 1
    Points: 2,880, Level: 12

    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Chennai,India
    Posts
    421
    Helped
    38 / 38
    Points
    2,880
    Level
    12

    Re: Using MAX 232 IC with the BeagleBone Black

    Hi.. Keith

    I'm using MAX202CPE and MAX232 both are works good in 3.3V with LPC2148 UART communication...

    Still I'm using .. There was no problem...



  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Points: 49,672, Level: 54
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    keith1200rs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    10,877
    Helped
    2075 / 2075
    Points
    49,672
    Level
    54

    Re: Using MAX 232 IC with the BeagleBone Black

    It is far safer to buy a chip designed for 3.3V operation than run a 5V chip at 3.3V and hope!

    Keith
    I started life with nothing and I've still got most of it left. (Seasick Steve)



    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Points: 38,245, Level: 47
    Achievements:
    Created Album pictures Created Blog entry 7 years registered
    alexan_e's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    11,893
    Helped
    2093 / 2093
    Points
    38,245
    Level
    47
    Blog Entries
    6

    Re: Using MAX 232 IC with the BeagleBone Black

    Quote Originally Posted by amayilsamy View Post

    I'm using MAX202CPE and MAX232 both are works good in 3.3V with LPC2148 UART communication...
    So you are operating a device out of the specs given by the manufacturer which may have its consequences, that is fine by me but when you recommend to other members to do the same too it should at least come with a clear warning that they should do it at their own risk because the device may misbehave since it is operating out of specs.

    Alex
    Please don't make requests for help in private using PM. Create a thread in the forum so that other members can benefit from the posted answers.

    Consider reading this before posting : How To Ask Questions The Smart Way



  8. #8
    Advanced Member level 1
    Points: 2,880, Level: 12

    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Chennai,India
    Posts
    421
    Helped
    38 / 38
    Points
    2,880
    Level
    12

    Re: Using MAX 232 IC with the BeagleBone Black

    Ok.. Thank you .. Alex



--[[ ]]--