Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[SOLVED] AC MEASUREMENTS USING CRO (Doubts about working of CRO)

Status
Not open for further replies.

myfaithnka

Advanced Member level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
hi all,

i am trying to see the waveforms of electronic ballast using a CRO.

the ELCB drips here,I am new to AC circuits working over mains.

What are the
PLEASE HELP.

thank you.

If CRO is the Cathode-Ray Oscilloscope, then today.s oscilloscopes use a different display. You can use any good oscilloscope to observe voltage waveforms. What exactly you need? Do you have some schematics and specifications?

If this is an electronic ballast in a mains florescent light, then the ballast will be connected to the mains. When you put your earth probe on the circuit, you are earthing the neutral of the mains causing excessive neutral current that trips the ELCB. Either run the ballast and kit from a mains isolating transformer, or use your CRO indifferential mode, connect the inputs via 10 :1 probes and view the difference between the two probe inputs. It is useful if both channels are set to the same volts/div. (makes the calculations easier.
Frank

Mains measurements are dangerous, especially for the inexperienced. 8-O I suggest you refrain from that or use an isolation transformer.

Differential measurement probes will be your best friend for working on mains-connected devices. I know they're expensive but they are simply awesome for viewing mains-connected wave-forms on an earth-grounded scope.

Hi all,

jiripolivka,