Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Questions about electret microphones

Status
Not open for further replies.

uoficowboy

Full Member level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi - I'm working on a design that will use an electret microphone. I've never used one before, so I am a little lost here.

First off, I'm trying to understand the sensitivity of these devices.

1. It seems the standard is to rate them in dba, where 0dba = 1V/pascal at 1KHz. So a 0dba microphone would output a 1V sinusoid (I'm assuming that is peak to peak) if given a 1KHz 1 pascal (again, assuming peak to peak) input. I think this is correct. However, there is also the unit dba SPL. I think this refers to 20 micro pascals (so 0dba SPL = -94dba). So a 0dba SPL microphone would produce a 1V sinusoid with a 20 micro pascal (at 1kHz) input. Is that right?

The **broken link removed** appears to have the standard 0dba unit.
The PUI POM-2738P-C33-R appears to use the same unit, but it doesn't specify it as carefully as Panasonic.
The **broken link removed** once again uses the same unit, and has amazingly flat frequency response.
The CUI CMA-4544PF-W uses this unit as well.