Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Battery Powered Supply

Status
Not open for further replies.

jsherman

Junior Member level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello to everyone,

I'm planning a microprocessor project that requires 5V at approximately 1A (in the worst case, when the motor and GPS are on, more like maybe a few hundred mA in general, non-worst case). Maybe that's a bit misleading, then; it should be able to tolerate spikes of about 1A. In any case, I want to use a 9V battery as a supply so that it's portable. I'm very new to power supply electronics, but I did find a lot of information on the DC to DC conversion of Buck Converters, which seemed to be what I wanted. However, battery voltages tend to decrease after a few hours of use (depending on the load).

Let's say I designed a 9V to 5V converter, so the inductor, cap, and diode values are set. The only other portion controlling the output voltage is the duty cycle of the switch. Is there any easy way to read the voltage off of the battery and change the duty cycle to continuously approximate 5V?

Thanks for your insight!

Hi jsherman,

I am not sure if I understood correctly, but your problem seems to be how to supply a 5V micro with a 9V battery, right? I think one of the easiest ways is using an LDO, like LM7805A (take a look at this document: https://www.fairchildsemi.com/ds/LM/LM7805.pdf).