+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Newbie level 1
    Points: 731, Level: 5

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    1
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    731
    Level
    5

    interfacing PC and MCU using RS485

    Hi,

    I am new to this area , can anyone please help me in how to interface a PC and a PIC16F877A using RS485 line and the protocol being followed is MODBUS.

    As far as I studied modbus is an half duplex but in many posts the pic is being configured using the uart which is a full duplex ? can some one explain how it is being done ?

    what are the converters required in this interfacnig the PC has an RS232 port
    Last edited by rgopinath91; 5th July 2013 at 06:54.

    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  2. #2
    Full Member level 3
    Points: 1,345, Level: 8

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    India
    Posts
    157
    Helped
    6 / 6
    Points
    1,345
    Level
    8

    Re: interfacing PC and MCU using RS485

    You will get converter for that,to connect to pc,am also trying the same.the following links may help you
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Modbus

    www.modbus.org/‎


    1 members found this post helpful.

    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  3. #3
    Advanced Member level 3
    Points: 3,983, Level: 14
    embpic's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    india
    Posts
    742
    Helped
    80 / 80
    Points
    3,983
    Level
    14

    Re: interfacing PC and MCU using RS485

    u can use rs485 but to communicate with MCU u have to use rs232 in between.
    means

    MCU rs232 rs485 rs232 PC

    likewise

    because in rs485 there is signal is of differntial. and in one line only other line is invertor or vice versa.

    so u have to use rs232 in between.



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  4. #4
    Advanced Member level 3
    Points: 7,169, Level: 20

    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Bangalore India
    Posts
    805
    Helped
    103 / 103
    Points
    7,169
    Level
    20
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: interfacing PC and MCU using RS485

    you can use Max485 IC for this...
    and it works directly with MCU TTL



--[[ ]]--