Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

how to create a function from a subprogram in VHDL

Status
Not open for further replies.

euro4u

Newbie level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points

Code VHDL - [expand]

I am a beginner in VHDL coding.I created a program with lot of portmapping. The program contains 28 components.the last program (top one) is called TOP entity.Now i want to use this TOP entity as a function??how can i do it ??can i use entity inside function declaration??

You cannot use the entity as part of the function in VHDL...what do you actually want to do?

Oh you want to use your top module as a function & use it in some other file.Maybe you want to do it the way they do it with library files.
you can create a new file & in that new file you declare the function & type in the body as you would normally do in a function declaration,

Oh you want to use your top module as a function & use it in some other file.Maybe you want to do it the way they do it with library files.
you can create a new file & in that new file you declare the function & type in the body as you would normally do in a function declaration,

WHat are you talking about?
To the OP: you cannot use any entity inside a function. You could port map it into another deisgn though,

can I use portmapping inside the function body??my program is a reconfigurable multiplier.it is having atleast 12 levels.how can i convert this big program into a function.that is my question.

- - - Updated - - -

Syedshan