Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[SOLVED] control 220V AC pump with SSR

Status
Not open for further replies.

drakongetes

Newbie level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi,

I am try to turn ON and OFF a 220V gardening pump (220V, 800W -> 3.6A) with a Raspberry Pi.
The GPIO pins on the Raspberry can easily be controlled. They produce 3.3V (and max 16 or 20mA).

I understand that i will need some sort of relay to do this. I was about to buy a simple SSR relay (Fotek SSR-25 DA), but a friend pointed it out that it's for controlling resistive loads, whereas a motor is an inductive load.

I am not an engineer by training, so I spend the last 6 hours reading about Triac relays, zero-crossing, random, SPDT, etc...but still pretty confused. I also read a LOT of contradicting information.

So I am looking for AS SIMPLE AS POSSIBLE a solution (and cheap) to turn ON/OFF my pump (through a Raspberry Pi).

Some people suggested buying a power switch with a remote, and then hacking the remote control. But I don't find this a very elegant and neat solution.

Can someone help?

Thanks a lot in advance.

I'm regularly turning AC water pumps on and off with an SSR, the pumps range from about 0.5HP to 4HP (about 400W to 3000W) and have never had any trouble, I use SSRs to replace mechanical switches because they are so much more reliable. Just make sure the SSR is conservatively rated, bearing in mind that water pumps may have a substantial mass of water to get moving so for a few seconds they may draw more power than their normal rating.

Brian.

Hi,