+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Newbie level 5
    Points: 133, Level: 1

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    8
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    133
    Level
    1

    CMOS DC booster - Start up circuit

    Hello everybody,

    I'm new in this forum and i have some questions about a dc-dc booster creating for my diploma thesis.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	dc_booster.JPG 
Views:	10 
Size:	11.9 KB 
ID:	91290
    I have the above circuit. Mos-switch is designed in 0.13um. I want to have an output voltage to 1V coming from an input one of 50mV - 80mV. The problem I am facing is that i can achieve having this output voltage only when the width of mos-switch is some cm. However, in this case, the power consumption of mos-switch is nearly 100% of vdc's power.
    Could you help me about that? How can I have both output voltage and least power consumption of mos?

    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  2. #2
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 19,089, Level: 33
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    crutschow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    L.A. USA Zulu -8
    Posts
    3,676
    Helped
    874 / 874
    Points
    19,089
    Level
    33

    Re: CMOS DC booster - Start up circuit

    Use a low threshold voltage MOS process and minimum drive voltage at the MOSFET gate.
    Zapper
    Curmudgeon Elektroniker



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Points: 52,941, Level: 56

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    12,948
    Helped
    2580 / 2580
    Points
    52,941
    Level
    56

    Re: CMOS DC booster - Start up circuit

    You are asking for up to 20X increase. This means the duty cycle needs to be very high, on the order of 97 or 98% (according to my simulation). During that part of the cycle, current goes through the switching device (mosfet).

    Hence only 2 or 3 percent of each cycle goes to the output stage.

    It is normal operation in a boost converter, if you wish to get 20X increase.



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  4. #4
    Newbie level 5
    Points: 133, Level: 1

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    8
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    133
    Level
    1

    Re: CMOS DC booster - Start up circuit

    I change duty cycle but power consumption in MOS is still to 100%. The only way i could decrease consumprion was by changing width of MOS to micrometers. However, in this way voltage boosting is nowhere. Any idea of how I could reach both targets?



  5. #5
    Full Member level 5
    Points: 2,193, Level: 10

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    San Francisco Bay Area
    Posts
    266
    Helped
    112 / 112
    Points
    2,193
    Level
    10

    Re: CMOS DC booster - Start up circuit

    Change your topology; use a boost circuit which permits the use of a transformer—one with perhaps a 10:1 turns ratio.



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  6. #6
    Newbie level 5
    Points: 133, Level: 1

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    8
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    133
    Level
    1

    Re: CMOS DC booster - Start up circuit

    What do you mean saying "use a transformer"?

    Using, for example, model IRF034 and Vin=50m, L=22u, C=10u, RL=100k, the result of Vout=1.4V which is pretty good. However, power consumption in MOS switch is 100% of Vin's power. My Vpulse generator has Period=10m, PW=7.5m and V=1V. What changes could I make in these parameters?
    Last edited by johnnysp; 20th May 2013 at 13:24.



  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Points: 52,941, Level: 56

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    12,948
    Helped
    2580 / 2580
    Points
    52,941
    Level
    56

    Re: CMOS DC booster - Start up circuit

    Come to think of it, if your power supply is .05V, then it is not able to turn on semiconductors, even if it has unlimited amperes available.

    A flyback converter will perform with better efficiency. It uses a transformer which contains a primary and secondary. This is only theoretical talk of course. You will still need 1V or so, to turn on a switching device for a flyback.



--[[ ]]--