Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Aliases for register bits in packages

Status
Not open for further replies.

FpgaEE

Newbie level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi all,

I'm not a new designer but am new here and hope someone might be able to help.

We have a design in which we'd like to pass the processors control (R/W) and status (R.O.) resisters around using two records: ControlRegisters and StatusRegisters.

Further assume ControlRegisters.TriggerControl(2) controls a trigger pulse that is used in several modules of the design and that the record ControlRegisters is brought into several components at the top level of the design. What we'd like to do is create an alias, call it MasterTrigger_A in a common place so that
1. Every module knows about this particular bit within ControlRegisters.TriggerControl
2. There is a single point of documentation and maintanance of that bit's definition

Initially, we created a package that defines ControlRegisters_type and StatusRegisters_type and the alias MasterTrigger_A defined as follows:

Code VHDL - [expand]
type Control_Registers_type is record
    TriggerControl: std_logic_vector(15 downto 0);
    GpControl: std_logic_vector(15 downto 0);
end record;

Signal ControlRegisters : ControlRegisters_type;
MasterTrigger_A : std_logic is ControlRegisters.TriggerControl(2);

Note the signal declaration is necessary for VHDL to understand what "ControlRegisters" means but as it turns out that's a double edged sword. (More on this in a moment.)

Next in the various .vhd modules we referenced our MasterBlaster_pkg in work. All compiled fine. Except it did not work.